Oregon State Edges Host Bakersfield For First Title In 13 Years

Photo Gallery

Feb. 25, 2007

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. -- Host Cal State Bakersfield made a huge surge toward the top of the standings, but in the end it was Oregon State who held off the Roadrunners to pick up its first conference title since 1994 at the 2007 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships at the Icardo Center on Sunday.

After holding a huge lead after day one, the host Roadrunners made a big push after the morning session of wrestling on Sunday to move within nine points of the leaders and give themselves a shot of the team title. Bakersfield actually tied the team score after the 165 pound matches at 103 points, but Oregon State earned wins in three of the final four weight classes to pull out the title.

Oregon State finished with 110 points, just ahead of Bakersfield with 105. UC Davis was third with 96.5 points, followed by Cal Poly (84), Arizona State (76.5), Stanford (72), Cal State Fullerton (69.5), Oregon (62), Boise State (58.5) and Portland State (5.5).

The home crowd sensed the possibility of the Roadrunners winning their third team title after Stanford's Tanner Gardner knocked off the Beavers' Eric Stevenson in the 125-pound final and Cal Poly's Darrell Vasquez earned a default win over Oregon State's Bobby Pfennigs at 133 to get the ball rolling in the Roadrunners' favor.

Bakersfield narrowed the gap further when the Roadrunners' Matt Schumm pinned Cal Poly's Dave Roberts at 141 and Brandon Doyle earned a decision over UC Davis' Shawn Haratani in consecutive third-place matches, while the Beavers' Derek Kipperberg lost 8-4 in the 149 final to Cal State Fullerton's Morgan Atkinson.

The Roadrunners tied the team score at 103-103 when Daniel Atondo finished third place at 165 pounds over Cal State Fullerton's Bryan Tice by a 7-5 decision, but Bakersfield would not take over the team lead. Oregon State earned wins in three of the final four weight classes to earn the team title.

Second-seeded Jeremy Larson of Oregon State picked up an 8-4 win over top-seed and No. 4 nationally-ranked Ken Cook of UC Davis to win the 174-pound weight class, and the Beavers' Kyle Bressler placed third at 184 with a 9-0 major decision over Oregon's Brysen French.

With the team title still not determined heading into the heavyweight division, Oregon State's Ty Watterson wrapped up the title for his Beavers with an 8-2 decision over Cal Poly's Cody Parker, giving Oregon State its 17th Pac-10 title overall and first since 1994.

It was clearly the night for Oregon State and Cal State Bakersfield on Sunday. Just before Oregon State wrapped up the team title, the Roadrunners' Brandon Halsey not only wrapped up the 197-pound weight class, but he also picked up the tournament's Most Outstanding Wrestler award.

Halsey, just a sophomore, was impressive throughout the tournament. He pinned his first two opponents before using a last-second takedown to defeat No. 3 seed Jason Trulson of Arizona State 4-2 in the semifinals. On Sunday night, Halsey jumped on Cal Poly's Monteiro -- who he has lost to twice earlier in the season -- from the beginning and never relented for a 10-7 victory.

The coaches decided that Halsey's impressive opening to the meet as well as his victory over Monteiro was deserving of the Most Outstanding Wrestler Award. Boise State's Tyler Sherfey was also honored for having the most pins in the least amount of time.

The top three at each weight plus nine wildcards advance to the NCAA Championships at the Palace of Auburn Hills just outside of Detroit, Mich., on Mar. 15-17. The following are the 39 representatives from the Pac-10 to head to the NCAA Championships:

1. Tanner Gardner, Stanford
2. Eric Stevenson, Oregon State
3. Marcos Orozco, UC Davis
4. John Espinoza, Arizona State

1. Darrell Vasquez, Cal Poly
2. Bobby Pfennigs, Oregon State
3. Omar Gaitan, UC Davis
4. T.J. Dillashaw, Cal State Fullerton

1. Derek Moore, UC Davis
2. Justin Pearch, Oregon
3. Matt Schumm, Cal State Bakersfield
4. Dave Roberts, Cal Poly

1. Morgan Atkinson, Cal State Fullerton
2. Derek Kipperberg, Oregon State
3. Brandon Doyle, Cal State Bakersfield

1. Brian Stith, Arizona State
2. Josh Zupancic, Stanford
3. Tyler Sherfey, Boise State
4. Chase Pami, Cal Poly

1. Patrick Pitsch, Arizona State
2. Dustin Noack, UC Davis
3. Daniel Atondo, Cal State Bakersfield
4. Bryan Tice, Cal State Fullerton
5. Brian Perry, Stanford

1. Jeremy Larson, Oregon State
2. Dustin Noack, UC Davis
3. Nate Lee, Boise State
4. Luke Feist, Stanford

1. Greg Gifford, Arizona State
2. Zack Giesen, Stanford
3. Kyle Bressler, Oregon State

1. Brandon Halsey, Cal State Bakersfield
2. Matt Monteiro, Cal Poly
3. Jason Trulson, Arizona State

1. Ty Watterson, Oregon State
2. Cody Parker, Cal Poly
3. Wade Sauer, Cal State Fullerton
4. Colton Nichols, Cal State Bakersfield
6. Andy Patrick, Boise State

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Football: Inside Pac-12 Football Media Day Special (North Division)
    Wed 7/25 | 1:30am PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
  • Football: Inside Pac-12 Football Media Day Special (South Division)
    Wed 7/25 | 6:00am PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder