Cassidy Krug Takes 3-Meter At NCAA Zone E Meet

March 1, 2007

Oklahoma City, Okla. - Cassidy Krug continued her strong postseason showing with a victory in the 3-meter competition on the first day of the 2007 NCAA Zone E Meet on Friday at the Oklahoma City Community College Pool. Krug, who was the 2007 Pac-10 Diver of the Meet after sweeping the 1-meter and 3-meter conference events, scored 666.30 points on Thursday to comfortable outdistance the 621.05 points scored by her closest competitor Megan Farrow of Hawaii.

'Once again, I was pretty happy with the way I dove, but I could have been better,' said Krug. 'But the end goal of the NCAA Championships is in sight now. This is a step I had take to get there. A meet like this helps me prepare for the NCAA's because there are many elements that are the same like being such a long meet with so many competitors. It's much different than a dual meet. You have to learn how to stay in the competition without getting tired.'

'Our goal is to win the national championship and anything off that concerns me,' added Stanford head diving coach Dr. Rick Schavone. 'She was good today, but we're not ecstatic. She would probably be in the top three or four at the NCAA's the way she dove today.'

Katie Lampe also finaled for the Cardinal, finishing 12th with 528.20 points.

'Katie dove great,' said Schavone. 'She really competed and did a great job.'

Sarah Ohr (21st, 236.95) also dove for the Cardinal in the prelims.The three-day meet will continue with the 1-meter competition on Friday (10:30 am, CT/8:30 am, PT) before concluding Saturday (10:15 am, CT/8:15 am, PT) with the platform. A full list of divers that qualify for the 2007 NCAA Championships will be announced on Saturday following the completion of the meet.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close