ASU Track & Field's Greg Kraft Selected National Coach of the Year

March 13, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Greg Kraft, the head coach of the Arizona State University track and field program has been selected as the 2007 United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) National Women's Coach of the Year after leading the Sun Devil women to the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championship over the weekend. Kraft's Sun Devils were ranked No. 1 in the nation all season before winning the school's first national team title in nine years.

The honor is the second of the season for Kraft after he was earlier named the 2007 USTFCCCA Women's West Region Coach of the Year. Kraft also earned an outdoor accolade from the Association after being named the 2006 USTFCCCA Women's West District Coach of the Year after guiding the women to their first Pac-10 title.

Kraft led his women's program to the top of the national rankings before the national title as ASU scored 38 points to win the crown in Fayetteville, Ark. The women were led by individual national champions Sarah Stevens (shot put) and Jacquelyn Johnson (pentathlon) while seeing four women score in six events. Amy Hastings (fourth in the 5,000m run and sixth in the 3,000m run) and Sarah Stevens (fifth in the weight throw) both earned a pair of All-America honors while Johnson and Jessica Pressley (third in the shot put) each earned the national honor once.

ASU will open its outdoor slate this weekend as the Sun Devils play host to the Baldy Castillo Invitational Friday and Saturday at Sun Angel Stadium in Tempe.

2007 USTFCCCA National Award Winners

Men's Coach of the Year: Ed Nuttycombe, Wisconsin
Women's Coach of the Year: Greg Kraft, Arizona State

Men's Track Athlete of the Year: Chris Solinsky, Wisconsin
Women's Track Athlete of the Year: Kerron Stewart, Auburn

Men's Co-Field Athlete of the Year: Donald Martin, Auburn
Men's Co-Field Athlete of the Year: Donovan Kilmartin, Texas
Women's Field Athlete of the Year: Brittany Riley, Southern Illinois

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder