No. 14 UCLA Rowing to Compete at the San Diego Crew Classic

March 29, 2007

San Diego, Calif. - The UCLA women's rowing crew is set to enter four boats into the 34th annual San Diego Crew Classic this weekend in Mission Bay, San Diego, Calif. The two-day event kicks off Saturday, March 31, 2007 (7:30 AM - 5 PM) and continues Sunday, April 1 (7:30 AM- 2:30 PM). The regatta will take place at Crown Point Shores Park at Mission Bay. For attendance details, please visit the official San Diego Crew Classic website

The No.14-ranked UCLA varsity eight boat will kick start the Bruins activities by competing in the 2nd heat of the Jessop-Whittier Cup race at 8:50 AM. The Bruin V8+ will be racing in lane 2, pitted against the No.8-ranked USC V8+ boat in lane 1, Oregon St. in lane 3, No.12-ranked Clemson in lane 4, and Loyola in lane 5. Last year, the UCLA varsity eight qualified for the grand final by posting a time of 6 minutes and 27.10 seconds in qualifying heat before finishing the grand final race in a time of 7:01.97, good enough for 5th place.

At 10 AM, UCLA's second varsity eight is scheduled to race in lane 2 in the 2nd heat of the Stitt Hungness Trophy race. The deep race line-up starts with Washington St. in lane 1, Stanford in lane 3, Clemson in lane 4, SDSU in lane 5, Loyola in lane 6, and Chapman in lane 7. In 2006, the Bruin 2nd V8+ boat registered a qualifying time of 6:42.00 in the prelims before finishing the grand final in 6th place at 7:04.89.

The UCLA freshman eight boat will lead the 3rd heat of the Korholz Perpetual Trophy race in lane 1, scheduled to start at 11:10 AM. The Bruin boat will be heavily challenged by the novice eight boats of Stanford in lane 2, UC Davis in lane 3, SDSU in lane 4, West Virginia in lane 5, UC Irvine in lane 6, and Sonoma St. in lane 7. In last year's race, the Bruin crew took 6th place in the grand final race, clocking in at 7:04.68, after finishing the preliminary heat in 2nd place (7:09.50).

UCLA will also enter an open eight boat to race for the Carley Copley Cup at 1:10 PM. The first heat had UCLA pegged in lane 3, racing alongside LARC in lane 1, USC in lane 2, Santa Clara in lane 4, St. Mary's in lane 5, Lake Union in lane 6, and Stanford in lane 7.

Should the Bruins qualify for the grand finals of each boat's respective race, they will race on Sunday. The freshman 8 would race at 9:45 AM, the 2nd V8+ at 10:40 AM, the open 8 at 11:20 AM, and the No. 14-ranked varsity eight at 11:35. Trophy presentations will commence once all races have finished at 12:10.


Varsity 8: Vanessa Teff (stroke), Patricia Dudziec, Lynn Hancock, Hayley Robinson, Elizabeth Lee, Alexandra Howard, Erin Haggerty, Jessica Fritz, Kirsten Potenza (coxswain)

2nd Varsity 8: Emily Wachtel (stroke), Erin Rice, Elizabeth Herron, Destinie Slavich, Renee Cornwell, Vanessa Jansen, Brittany Merchant, Alexis Kalionzes, Megan McQuown (coxswain)

Freshman 8: Christina King (stroke), Alexandra Lauren, Kaitlin Doering, Lauren Counter, Jessica Buzawa, Lillian Sakkis, Danielle Piccinini, Anne Schier, Brittany Liljeqvist (coxswain)

Open 8: Maida Habibovic (stroke), Samantha Melzer, Briana Hernandez, Caitlyn Czisny, Ashley Guzik, Megan Lightfoot, Jennifer Weber, Bree Hemingway, Emily Wachtel (coxswain)

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder