Dr. Jim Brock To Be Inducted Into College Baseball Hall of Fame

April 10, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Legendary Arizona State University head baseball coach Jim Brock has been named to the 2007 induction class for the College Baseball Hall of Fame in Lubbock, Texas, the College Baseball Foundation announced today. Brock will become the third Sun Devil to enter the Hall of Fame, joining fellow coach Bobby Winkles and former Golden Spikes Award winner Bob Horner, who were both members of the inaugural class in 2006.

Brock joins Chuck 'Bobo' Brayton of Washington State, Bibb Falk of Texas, Jerry Kindall of Arizona and Dick Siebert of Minnesota as 2007 coaching inductees. Jim Abbott of Michigan, Pete Incavigilia of Oklahoma State, Fred Lynn of USC, John Olerud of Washington State, Phil Stephenson of Wichita State and Derek Tatsuno of Hawai'i make up the list of former student-athletes who will be inducted.

Four veteran selections previously announced will be celebrated and officially inducted with the Class of 2007. This first-ever Veteran Class of pre-1947 candidates includes legendary players Christy Mathewson of Bucknell, Lou Gehrig of Columbia and players-turned-coaches Joe Sewell of Alabama and John 'Jack' Barry of Holy Cross.

The official induction ceremony will take place over 4th of July weekend in Lubbock, Texas, future site of the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Arizona State's second of only three varsity baseball coaches in the history of the program, Brock led the Sun Devils to a pair of national championships in 1977 and 1981 and recorded a 1,100-440 record during his 23 years at the helm of the Sun Devils. He led ASU to 13 College World Series appearances, including winning a pair of National Championships. Brock passed away after a long battle with cancer shortly after leading the Sun Devils to the 1994 College World Series. He was inducted into the ABCA College Baseball Hall of Fame in 1998, and was the 1977 and 1981 NCAA Coach of the Year. Additionally, Brock was a five-time winner of the Pac-10 Coach of the Year award (1981, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1993). Additionally, Brock earned three degrees from Arizona State, including a bachelor, master's and doctorate.

Brock coached many Sun Devil legends, including first-round draft picks Eddie Bane, Floyd Bannister, Bob Horner, Hubie Brooks, Oddibe McDowell, Barry Bonds and Mike Kelly. All three of ASU's Golden Spikes Award winners (Horner, McDowell, Kelly) also played under Brock. His number 33 is retired at Arizona State, and the baseball facility, Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark, was named in honor of the late Dr. Brock in 2006.

'This is a very proud day for the Sun Devil Baseball family,' said head coach Pat Murphy. 'While an obvious selection, this tremendous honor is certainly well deserved. Coach Brock's accomplishments at Arizona State University are remarkable and I'm excited that his legacy lives on as a member of the College Baseball Hall of Fame.'

Over 300 candidates were originally submitted for consideration by universities and CBF members. Players are eligible for the College Baseball Hall of Fame ballot five years after the student-athlete's final collegiate season, not to include any active player or coach on a professional baseball team roster. Former players must have made an All American team or an All League team during at least one year at a four-year institution. Coaches are eligible after ending their collegiate career, not to include an active coach on a professional baseball team. They must have achieved 300 career wins, or have won at least 65% of their games.