Krug, Smit And Schavone Win Pac-10 Awards

April 10, 2007

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Stanford's Cassidy Krug, Julia Smit and head diving coach Dr. Rick Schavone were honored with postseason Pac-10 awards on Tuesday. Krug was named the Pac-10 Diver of the Year, while Smit was selected the conference's Swimming Newcomer of the Year and Schavone the league's Diving Coach of the Year.

Krug, who was named the 2006-07 NCAA Diver of the Year last month, earned the Pac-10 honor for the first time in her career. She won all six events she entered in the 2007 postseason by sweeping the NCAA, NCAA Zone E and Pac-10 1-meter and 3-meter titles. Krug became the first Stanford diver to win an NCAA 1-meter title and the first since Erin Sones captured the platform in 2001 to win any NCAA diving event. She is only the second Stanford women's diver to win more than one NCAA title in her career. Krug completed her collegiate career with seven All-American honors, while becoming just the second women's diver in Stanford history to win at least one All-American honor in each of her four seasons. She won three Pac-10 titles in her career with a 1-meter win as a freshman preceding her senior 1-meter and 3-meter sweep. Krug was the Pac-10 Diving Co-Freshman/Newcomer of the Year as a collegiate rookie in 2003-04.

Smit earned six All-American honors in a standout 2006-07 freshman season. She finished second at the NCAA's in the 200 back, third in the 200 IM, 400 IM and as a member of the 400 medley relay team, fifth on the 200 free relay squad and seventh on the 800 free relay foursome. She also won three Pac-10 titles in the 200 back, 200 IM and 400 IM. In addition, Smit broke school records in the 200 IM (1:55.38) and as a member of the 200 free relay team (1:29.48), while also entering the school's list of all-time top performers in the 400 IM (#2, 4:04.02), 200 back (#2, 1:53.95), 200 free (#3, 1:45.41) and 50 free (#8, 22.75).

Schavone earned the conference's top diving coaching honor on the women's side for the fifth time in his career. He has coached his men's and women's divers to a combined 10 NCAA titles and 79 All-American honors in 29 seasons as Stanford's head diving coach. He has had at least one All-American on the women's side for 13 straight seasons and 25 of the last 26. In addition, his divers have combined for 35 men's and women's Pac-10 titles.

Other 2006-07 Pac-10 award winners included Arizona's Lacey Nymeyer (Swimmer of the Year) and Frank Busch (Swimming Coach of the Year), and California's Samantha Young (Diving Newcomer of the Year).

The honors are determined by a vote of the Pac-10 coaches.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder