Brockman Collects Five Awards at Men's Basketball Banquet

April 11, 2007

SEATTLE -- Sophomore Jon Brockman collected five team awards, including the KJR Radio Most Valuable Player trophy at the annual Washington men's basketball banquet, Wednesday at Bank of America Arena.

Brockman (Snohomish, Wash./Snohomish) was a first-team All-Pac selection. The 6-7 forward led all Pac-10 players with an average of 9.6 rebounds per game. His 15 double-doubles led the conference. Brockman ranked third among Pac-10 players in field goal percentage (55.0%) and 12th in scoring (14.2 ppg).

Along with the team's MVP honor, Brockman received the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award and the Wurster Award that recognizes UW's top hustler. He also was honored with the Most Improved Player award and the Harshman Trophy as UW's top rebounder.

Another multiple-trophy winner was freshman center Spencer Hawes (Seattle, Wash./Seattle Prep) who collected the 101 Club Scholar-Athlete plaque and the Playmaker of the Year Award.

Hawes led the team and ranked 10th among Pac-10 scorers with a 14.9-point average. His 53.2-percent accuracy from the field was the league's fourth-best figure. The 7-foot center was a first-team All-Pac-10 Freshman Team selection and an honorable mention all-conference pick. He established two new school freshman records with 461 points and 54 blocked shots.

The team's hardest worker was junior Ryan Appleby (Stanwood, Wash./Stanwood), who was the recipient of the Industrial Award. Appleby established a new school record for 3-pointers in a season with 84. That was 60 more treys than any other Husky made.

Sophomore center Artem Wallace (Toledo, Wash./Toledo) was recognized as the team's best defensive player as the winner of the John Meyers Award.

The Hec Edmundson Most Inspirational award was presented to red-shirt freshman center Joe Wolfinger (Portland, Ore./Aloha) who missed the entire season with a foot injury.

A pair of seniors garnered the remaining team awards. Hans Gasser (Issaquah, Wash./Issaquah) received the Coaches Award, signifying the player with the best attitude. For the fourth straight season, Brandon Burmeister (Mercer Island, Wash./Mercer Island) received the Brandon West Award that honors the team's top walk-on.

Washington completed the 2007 campaign with a 19-13 record, capping the regular-season with a 61-51 victory over second-ranked and Final Four qualifier UCLA on March 3. The Huskies finished seventh in the Pac-10 with an 8-10 record.

2007 Washington Men's Basketball Team Awards
KJR Most Valuable Player -- Jon Brockman
Hec Edmundson Most Inspirational -- Joe Wolfinger
Harshman Trophy (top rebounder) -- Jon Brockman
Wurster Award (top hustler) -- Jon Brockman
Tyee Sports Council Community Service -- Jon Brockman
Brandon West Walk-On Award -- Brandon Burmeister
Most Improved Player -- Jon Brockman
Playmaker of the Year Award -- Spencer Hawes
Industrial Award -- Ryan Appleby
101 Club Scholar-Athlete -- Spencer Hawes
John Meyers Defensive Player -- Artem Wallace
Coaches Award Jo-- Hans Gasser

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder