Sun Devils Eight Shots Back Of Leader Oregon At Thunderbird Invitational

April 14, 2007

ASU Thunderbird Invitational Second-Round Results, April 14, 2007

The Arizona State men's golf team is tied for fourth after Saturday's second round at the 35th annual ASU/Thunderbird Invitational held at the ASU Karsten Golf Course (par 72/7,057 yards). ASU is at 12-under 564 (281-283) and is eight shots back of leader Oregon (also the first-round pace setter) as it leads the 16-team field at 20-under 556 (277-279).

Texas A & M is at 15-under 561 (282-279) and is in second. USC, ranked fourth nationally entering the tournament by Golfstat, is at 13-under 563 (278-285) and in third. Arizona, the 2006 Thunderbird Invitational champion, is at 12-under 564 (287-277) along with ASU after shooting an 11-under 277, led by Brian Prouty's 65, in the second round.

Host Arizona State, who has won the tournament five of the past nine years (1999-2001 and 2003-2004) and 13 times overall, was led Saturday by senior All-American Niklas Lemke who is at 5-under 139 (72-67) and tied for seventh. Lemke won the National Invitational in Tucson on April 2-3 and took home 2006 Illini Invitational honors in the fall. He entered the tournament this weekend with a 70.13 stroke average and six top-five finishes in eight events. He finished tied for sixth at the 2006 Thunderbird Invitational.

Sophomore All-American Benjamin Alvarado Holley shot a 1-under 71 and also is at 5-under 139 (68-71). Alvarado Holley has a 71.54 stroke average and three top-10 finishes in eight events on the year.

The Sun Devils are trying to win back-to-back tournaments after earning championship honors at the National Invitational held at Omni Golf Club in Tucson April 2-3.

Oregon's Derek Sipe is at 13-under 131 (65-66) and leads the individual race by two strokes over New Mexico's Charlie Beljan, who shot 66-67 and is at 11-under 133.

Knut Borsheim shot a 1-under 71 and is at 1-under 143 (72-71) and is tied for 23rd. Senior Fredrik Andersson, who shot a collegiate best 3-under 69 in the first round, shot a 2-over 74 and also is at 1-under 143 (69-74). Sophomore Steele DeWald is at 6-over 150 (76-74) and tied for 68th.

ASU is fielding a maroon squad that is at 15-over 591 (297-294), led by sophomore Erik Coover who is tied for 30th at even-par 144 (71-73). Freshmen Tristan Bierenbroodspot is at 1-over 145 (73-72), sophomore Ryan Kelley is at 4-over 148 (75-73) and freshman James Dalthorp (78-78) and senior Phil Telliard (80-76) are at 12-over 156.

The tournament concludes with 18 holes Sunday beginning at 7 a.m. (MST/PDT). Admission is free. Complete results can be found at and live scoring is available.

PAST THUNDERBIRD INVITATIONAL CHAMPIONS: Notable past champions of the event include Scott Simpson of USC (1975), Corey Pavin of UCLA (1979), 1983 NCAA champion Jim Carter of Arizona State (1984), Phil Mickelson of Arizona State (1991 and 1992), 1993 NCAA champion Todd Demsey of Arizona State (1995), 2000 U.S. Amateur champion Jeff Quinney of Arizona State (1999) and 1999 and 2000 English Amateur champion and three-time Pac-10 champion Paul Casey of Arizona State (2000), who also earned 2001 European Rookie of the Year honors.

NEXT UP FOR ASU: ASU next competes in the Pac-10 Championship April 23-25 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore. It has won the Pac-10 title 11 times, including six straight championships from 1995-2000. The NCAA West Regional will be held May 17-19 in Tempe again at Karsten Golf Course while the NCAA Championships will be held May 31-June 3 in Williamsburg, Va. ASU is a five-time champion of the NCAA West Regional and won the NCAA championship in 1990 and 1996.

CONFERENCE CALL: Five conferences are represented at the tournament, as there are five schools from the Pac-10 (ASU, Arizona, California, Oregon and USC), five from the Big 12 (Baylor, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas A & M and Texas Tech), three from the Mountain West (New Mexico, San Diego State and UNLV) and one each from Western Athletic Conference (Fresno State) and Conference USA (UCF).


TEAM TOTAL SCORE1. Arizona State 43-under 821 in 20042. Arizona State 40-under 824 in 20033. Arizona 22-under 830 in 20064. UNLV 21-under 831 in 2006T5. Arizona 32-under 832 in 2004T5. USC 32-under 832 in 2003T5. Texas 32-under 832 in 2002

INDIVIDUAL TOTAL SCORE1. Ben Kern (Kansas State) 14-under 199 in 2006T2. Alejandro Canizares (Arizona State) 16-under 200 in 2004T2. Bret Guetz (TCU) 16-under 200 in 2002T4. David Schultz (TCU) 15-under 201 in 2003T4. Jeff Quinney (Arizona State) 15-under 201 in 1999T6. Henry Liaw (Arizona) 11-under 202 in 2006T6. Ryan Moore (UNLV) 14-under 202 in 2004T6. Aaron Bengoechea (Pacific) 14-under 202 in 1989T9. Chez Reavie (Arizona State) 13-under 203 in 2004T9. John Klauk (Texas) 13-under 203 in 2002