Women's Gymnastics To Compete in Session II at NCAA Nationals

April 16, 2007

Stanford, CA -

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA announced today the teams and individuals that qualified to compete for the 2007 National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships. The championships, hosted by the University of Utah, will be held in Salt Lake City, Utah, at the Jon M. Huntsman Center, April 26-28. The women's gymnastics championships consist of 12 teams and 12 all-around competitors (who are not on a qualifying team) and individual event specialists. The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors from each regional received automatic berths to the national championships. In addition, the event winners at the regional championships advance to the national championships (in their specific event) if they were not part of a qualifying team or the all-around qualifiers.

In the 2006 championships, the top-ranked Georgia Bulldogs, defending national champions, reclaimed the title with a final overall score of 197.75. The Bulldogs have won the title seven times in 23 championship appearances. Utah followed the Bulldogs with a near flawless performance of its own, scoring a 196.80. Rounding out the scoring was Alabama in third (196.725), Florida in fourth (196.275), Nebraska in fifth (196.175) and Iowa State in sixth (194.725).Preliminary team and all-around competition will be conducted in two sessions Thursday, April 26 at 1 p.m. and 7 p.m. The top three teams from each session will advance to the Super Six competition Friday, April 27 at 7 p.m. The top four individuals from each session in each event (plus ties) from the preliminary team and all-around competition will compete in the individual-event competition Saturday, April 28 at 7 p.m. For more information about the women's gymnastics championships, log on to www.ncaasport.com.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder