No. 15 UCLA Set to Host Norman Miller Cup Regatta

April 19, 2007

Los Angeles, Calif. - UCLA has rowed against boats from Loyola Marymount and San Diego State earlier this season, capturing the top finishes in all 9 events against the two schools combined.

Last year, UCLA won the Miller Cup by sweeping all four of their events. The Bruins' varsity eight raced past Loyola Marymount and UC Santa Barbara in the Grand Final, finishing ahead of the Lions by 6.0 seconds. The second varsity won their final over San Diego State and San Diego by a 14.4-second margin. Both the varsity four and novice eight crews also had little trouble getting past San Diego State, Loyola Marymount and UC Santa Barbara in completing the victorious sweep.

This year's regatta will pit six UCLA boats in six preliminary heats of 1500 meters. The winner of each heat will receive an automatic spot in the grand final of their respective boat class. Additional finalists will be determined by their race times.

For those fans planning on supporting the team this weekend, here are directions to the UCLA Boathouse. in Marina del Rey.

UCLA Race Schedule (All heats are 1500m)

Time Event Lane 1 Lane 2 Lane 3
9:00am N8+ Heat UCLA SDSU UCSB
9:10am 2N8+ Heat LMU USD UCLA 'B'
9:20am V4+ Heat LMU UCLA SDSU
9:30am 2V4+ Heat USD UCLA 'B'
9:50am 2V8+ Heat UCLA USD
10:10am V8+ Heat UCSB UCLA 'B'
Time Event: Finals
10:50am Novice 8+ Petite Final
11:00am Novice 8+ Grand Final
11:10am Varsity 4+ Petite Final
11:20am Varsity 4+ Grand Final
11:30am 2Varsity 8+ Petite Final
11:40am 2Varsity 8+ Grand Final
11:50am Varsity 8+ Petite Final
12:00pm Varsity 8+ Grand Final
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder