Cardinal Men Head To Pacific Northwest For 2007 Pac-10 Championship

April 20, 2007

Stanford, Calif. - Stanford Men Prepare For Pac-10s: Oregon will serve as host for the The 48th Pacific-10 Conference Men's Golf Championship. The 72-hole Championship will run Monday through Wednesday, April 23-25 at the par 72, 6,854 yard course at the Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Oregon. All 10 institutions will compete. Admission to the 2007 Pacific-10 Men's Golf Championship is free.

Rankings: As of April 16th, the Golfweek/Sagrain Index shows that five teams are ranked in the Top-25 ... STANFORD is ranked No. 2, followed by USC at No. 6, UCLA is ranked No. 7, ARIZONA STATE at No. 19 and rounding out the Top-25 is ARIZONA at No. 22 ... As for the rest of the Conferences, WASHINGTON is No. 35, CALIFORNIA is No. 55, OREGON is No. 58, followed by OREGON STATE at No. 60 and WASHINGTON STATE at No. 103 ... Individually, Niklas Lemke of Arizona State is ranked No. 4, USC's Jamie Lovemark is ranked No. 5, Rob Grube of Stanford is ranked No. 15, UCLA's Kevin Chappell at No. 16, Stanford's Matthew Savage is No. 18, folowed by teammates Zach Miller at No. 20 and Joseph Bramlett at No. 21, UCLA's Lucas Lee sits at No. 24, Arizona's Brian Prouty is No. 33, while Arizona State's Benjamin Alvarado rounds out players in the national Top-50 at No. 35.

Schedule: A practice round will take place on Sunday, April 22 before the tournament beings on Monday morning. The opening two rounds are Monday, the third round is on Tuesday and the final round is scheduled for Wednesday. The starting times for each day of competition is 8 a.m.

Team Pairings: The team pairings and order of play for the first round are as follows:
Group 1 (1st Tee - 8 a.m.):
Stanford, USC, UCLA

Group 2 (1st Tee - 9 a.m.):
Arizona State, Arizona, Washington

Group 3 (10th Tee - 8:30 a.m.):
California, Oregon State, Oregon, Washington State

Tournament Scoring: The five individuals from each team with the lowest scores for any 18-hole round constitute the scoring members of the team for that given round. The team championship will be awarded to the squad with the lowest total combined score for all rounds.

Last Year: The UCLA Bruins won their fifth Pac-10 title, shooting an even 1420. UCLA led all four rounds, and opened the final day with a six-shot lead, and it never dipped below that mark. 2005 Conference champion Washington placed second, while Arizona State finished third.

Cardinal Notes: The nationally ranked Stanford golf team won its sixth tournament of the season with a victory at the U.S. Intercollegiate in Stanford, Calif ... Cardinal Rob Grube was crowned the individual champion, firing an eight-under par 202 for the tournament ... Stanford placed five golfers in the Top-20 individually ... Stanford has recorded six first place finishes, two second place finishes, two fifth place finishes this season ... Stanford's six tournament victories is the most since the Tiger Woods era in the mid `90's ... The Cardinal team is one of the deepest in the country as three different Stanford golfers have won a tournament this year (Rob Grube, Zack Miller and Joseph Bramlett). Every member of the team has competed in an event this year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder