Cardinal Travel to Ojai for Pac-10 Individual Championships

April 24, 2007

Pac-10 Release
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Cardinal
Stanford will compete in the Pacific-10 Conference Individual Championships, April 26-29 at Ojai, Calif. ... The Cardinal finished the regular season with an 8-16 overall record and a 2-5 mark in the Pac-10 ... A year ago, Stanford's Matt Bruch beat teammate James Wan to win the Pac-10 men's singles title ... The Cardinal also had its top doubles team of James Pade and K.C. Corkery reach the semifinals.

National Rankings
Cardinal freshman Richard Wire enters the tournament ranked No. 77 in the nation in singles ... Wire has gone 9-4 since March 26, including winning his last three matches, and has won four of his last five against nationally-ranked opponents ... Bruch and Blake Muller enter the Pac-10's ranked No. 12 in doubles nationally ... The Cardinal duo are 12-3 this season ... They had won 12 of their last 13 matches before losing last week ... Bruch and Muller are the second highest ranked team in the Pac-10's, trailing only UCLA's Philipp Grundler and Benjamin Kohlloeffel, who are ranked No. 10.

Stanford at the Pac-10's
Stanford has had 11 men's singles champions and eight doubles champions since 1987 ... In fact, the Cardinal has won the last three singles titles with Bruch winning in 2006 and Sam Warburg taking the titles in 2004 and '05 ... Some of the great Cardinal tennis players to win the Pac-10 Individual titles are Patrick McEnroe (1987), Alex O'Brien (1991, '92), Scott Humphries (1995), Bob Bryan (1997), Paul Goldstein (1998), Ryan Wolters (1999), Geoff Abrams (2000) along with Warburg and Bruch ... In doubles, Stanford's last championship came in 2005 when Warbug and Corkery won the title.

Pac-10 Individual Championships
The Pac-10's nine women's teams and eight men's teams will compete in Ojai, Calif., Thurs., April 26 through Sun., April 29, to decide the league's singles and doubles champions ... The 32-player men's singles draw shall consist of four student-athletes from each school, and the 16-team doubles draw shall consist of two doubles teams from each school ... For the women, the 32-player singles draw shall consist of three players from each of the nine schools that sponsor women's tennis, with five additional competitors selected by a committee of coaches, based upon the participants record ... The 16-team doubles draw will have one doubles team from each school and seven additional teams selected by the committee, based upon the participants record.

107th Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament
Pac-10 competition will be held in conjunction with the 107th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament ... The Pac-10 men will compete at Libbey Park in Ojai for all rounds ... The Pac-10 women will play at the Ojai Valley Athletic Club Thurs., April 26, and Fri., April 27 ... All semifinal and final matches on Sat., April 28, and Sun., April 29, are at Libbey Park ... Matches begin at 8 a.m., with two rounds of singles on opening day ... One round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on Friday ... Semifinals and finals will be held at a time yet to be determined.

Ojai History
The PAC-10 championships will again be the featured event at this year's 107th Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament, which attracts 1600 of the best college, junior and open players from the Western states ... The annual event, started by William Thacher in 1896, has been played at the same site, and interrupted only five times.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder