Pac-10 Tennis Championships Hit The Courts At The Ojai

April 24, 2007

Live Results

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

PACIFIC-10 INDIVIDUAL CHAMPIONSHIPS: The Pac-10's nine women's teams and eight men's teams head to Ojai, Calif., Thurs., April 26 through Sun., April 29, to decide the league's singles and doubles champions. The 32-player men's singles draw shall consist of four student-athletes from each school, and the 16-team doubles draw shall consist of two doubles teams from each school. For the women, the 32-player singles draw shall consist of three players from each of the nine schools that sponsor women's tennis, with five additional competitors selected by a committee of coaches, based upon the participants record. The 16-team doubles draw will have one doubles team from each school and seven additional teams selected by the committee, based upon the participants record.

WHAT & WHERE: Pac-10 competition will be held in conjunction with the 107th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament. The Pac-10 men will compete at Libbey Park in Ojai for all rounds. The Pac-10 women will play at the Ojai Valley Athletic Club Thurs., April 26, and Fri., April 27. All semifinal and final matches on Sat., April 28, and Sun., April 29, are at Libbey Park. Matches begin at 8 a.m., with two rounds of singles on opening day. One round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on Friday. Semifinals and finals will be held at a time yet to be determined.

OJAI HISTORY: The PAC-10 championships will again be the featured event at this year's 107th Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament, which attracts 1600 of the best college, junior and open players from the Western states. The annual event, started by William Thacher in 1896, has been played at the same site, and interrupted only five times.

If this tournament, run entirely by volunteer effort on public and privately owned courts, seems an unlikely place to see championship quality players, consider who has appeared here: Pete Sampras, Lindsay Davenport, Michael Chang, Rick Leach, Tracy Austin, Billy Jean King, Arthur Ashe, Jimmy Connors and the Bryan twins. These tennis greats are among more than 85 former players at The Ojai who have gone on to win one or more Grand Slam events as professional tennis players, all of whom are listed on Libbey Park's 'Wall of Fame.'

MEDIA CONTACT: Sam Eaton will serve as the Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament coordinator. All media requests can be forwarded to him at (805) 963-2014, or During tennis competition, Eaton can be reached at the Ojai Tournament desk, (805) 646-7241. Results will be posted at, as well as on the Pac-10 website:

PAC-10 INDIVIDUAL AWARDS: Individual awards, including the Player of the Year, Doubles Team of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year, will be awarded after the conclusion of the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai and released from the Conference office.

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS: The field for the 2007 NCAA Team Championships will be announced on May 1, with the individual fields revealed on May 2. NCAA Regional action will take place on campus sites, May 11-12 or 12-13. For the second time in NCAA history, both the NCAA Men's and Women's Tennis Championships will be held together at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, May 17 - 28, hosted by the University of Georgia. Stanford played host to both Men's and Women's Championships last year.

PAC-10 MEN: 12 Pac-10 singles players are ranked in the ITA Top-125 national men's singles rankings (as of April 24). Seven Conference teams are represented by individuals, with UCLA senior Benjamin Kohlloeffel topping the list at No. 4. The Bruins and Trojans lead the way with three individuals each in the Top-125.

ARIZONA: No. 122 Claudio Christen, Jr.
ARIZONA STATE: No. 91 Juan Carlos Rebaza, Jr.; No. 118 Matt Brooklyn, Fr.
CALIFORNIA: No. 30 Pierre Mouillon, Jr.
STANFORD: No. 77 Richard Wire, Fr.
UCLA: No. 4 Benjamin Kohlloeffel, Sr.; No. 27 Haythem Abid, So.; No. 44 Chris Surapol, Sr.
USC: No. 35 Jamil Al-Agba, Sr.; No. 51 Dejan Cvetkovic, Sr.; No. 67 Kaes Van't Hof, Jr.
WASHINGTON: No. 87 Alex Slovic, Sr.

In doubles, Pac-10 men's teams occupy four spots among the Top-60, with a ranked duo representing four different schools. UCLA's tandem of Philipp Gruendler and Benjamin Kohlloeffel is the highest-ranked dou at No. 10

STANFORD: No. 12 Matt Bruch, So./Blake Muller, So.
UCLA: No. 10 Philipp Gruendler, Sr./Benjamin Kohlloeffel, Sr.
USC: No. 60 Dejan Cvetkovic, Sr./Gary Sacks, Fr.
WASHINGTON: No. 59 Daniel Chu, Sr./Alex Slovic, Sr.

PAC-10 WOMEN: The Pac-10 women hold down 22 spots on the ITA's Top-125 singles rankings list through April 18. Of the Top-25 players in the nation, 10 hail from the Pac-10, easily the most of any conference. Six Conference teams are represented by individuals, with junior Susie Babos of CALIFORNIA, the 2006 NCAA Singles Champion, with the highest ranking at No. 4. Stanford leads the way with six players ranked.

ARIZONA: No. 42 Danielle Steinberg, So.; No. 78 Juliette Mavroleon, Jr.
ARIZONA STATE: No. 29 Nadia Abdala, Fr.; No. 67 Sabrina Capannolo, Sr.
CALIFORNIA: No. 4 Susie Babos, Jr.; No. 11 Zsuzsanna Fodor, Sr.; No. 23 Nina Henkel, Fr.; No. 87 Stephanie Kusano, Jr.
STANFORD: No. 12 Theresa Logar, Sr.; No. 14 Celia Durkin, Jr.; No. 16 Anne Yelsey, Sr.; No. 20 Jessica Nguyen, So.; No. 82 Lindsay Burdette, Fr.; No. 92 Whitney Deason, Jr.
UCLA: No. 15 Riza Zalameda, Jr.; No. 35 Tracy Lin, Jr.; No. 49 Yasmin Schnack, Fr.; No. 101 Ashley Joelson, So.
USC: No. 9 Lindsey Nelson, Jr.; No. 10 Sarah Fansler, Fr.; No. 73 Amanda Fink, So.; No. 100 Dianne Matias, Sr.

In doubles, Pac-10 women's teams hold eight spots among the Top-60, with four schools represented. The California tandem of Susie Babos and Zsuzsanna Fodor are the third-ranked doubles team in the nation.

ARIZONA STATE: No. 12 Kady Pooler, Sr./Roxanne Clarke, Sr.
CALIFORNIA: No. 3 Susie Babos, Jr./Zsuzsanna Fodor, Sr.; No. 53 Daron Moore, So./Nina Henkel, Fr.
STANFORD: No. 21 Lindsay Burdette, Fr./Anne Yelsey, Sr.; No. 36 Celia Durkin, Jr./Jessica Ngueyn, So.
UCLA: No. 26 Riza Zalameda, Jr./Yasmin Schnack, Fr.; No. 38 Elizabeth Lumpkin, Jr./Stephanie Wetmore, Fr.; No. 59 Riza Zalameda, Jr./Ashley Joelson, So.

UCLA MEN AND STANFORD WOMEN CLAIM TEAM TITLES: On both the men's and women's side this year, the Pac-10 team titles came down to a matter of points here or there on the final weekend of dual match play. On the men's side, in what was essentially a two-team race all season, UCLA and USC brought perfect 6-0 records into a match against each other to decide the Conference champion. With the match tied at 3-3, UCLA's all-time singles wins leader Benjamin Kohlloeffel, prevailed at No. 1 singles over USC's Jamil Al-Agba, 6-4, 6-4 to sew up UCLA's third-straight Pac-10 crown. The top four women's teams were neck-and-neck all season, and although Stanford came out on top once again (as it has every year since 1988), each of Stanford's last three wins was by a 4-3 count. In fact, every dual over the last two weeks between Stanford, USC, UCLA, and California (seven matches total) finished at 4-3, evidence of how fiercely contested was this year's Conference race.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder