Niklas Lemke Finishes Second At Pac-10 Championships

April 25, 2007

Official Pac-10 Men's Golf Tournament Website

Niklas Lemke finished second with a 13-under 275at the Pac-10 Men's Golf Championships which concluded Wednesday at the Eugene (Ore.) Country Club (par-72/6,854 yards). Tenth-ranked USC took home team honors with a 51-under 1,389 (358-342-345-344), as ASU finished third with a 7-under 1,433 (356-366-354-357).

Lemke, who had 22 birdies in the four rounds, finished six shots back of USC's Jamie Lovemark, who finished at 19-under 269 (69-66-67-67).

Lemke's stroke average through 31 rounds is 69.87, matching Paul Casey's school record set in 1999-2000.

No. 4 UCLA (15-under 1,425 with rounds of 355-353-360-357) finished in second place.

Sophomore Benjamin Alvarado Holley tied for sixth at 7-under 281 as he shot a 67 on the final day. He carded scores of 71-75-68-67.

Freshman Tristan Bierenbroodspot finished the tournament at 2-under 286 (72-70-71-73) and tied for 12th.

Senior Fredrik Andersson had a 70 in the opening round and finished tied for 24th at 3-over 291 (70-77-72-72) after shooting par in the final two rounds.

Freshman Knut Borsheim tied for 51st at 12-over 300 (74-74-75-77).

Sophomore Steele DeWald finished at 24-over 312 (79-77-75-81).

The Pac-10 Championship counts the low five scores from the six-man teams. Full leadersboards and statistics are available at

NEXT UP: The 2007 NCAA West Regional will be held at ASU's Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz., May 17-19. The 2007 NCAA Championships will be held in Williamsburg, Va., May 30- June 2 with Virginia Commonwealth serving as host.

ASU'S BEST: After 10 tournaments this year, both Niklas Lemke and Benjamin Alvarado Holley have a chance to move up in the top-10 in terms of single-season scoring average in ASU history. Lemke now has a 69.87 mark, while Alvarado Holley has a 71.19 average.

ASU MEN'S GOLF SCORING AVERAGES (1987-2007)Rk.	Name, Events	Year	Average1.	Niklas Lemke, 10	2006-07	69.871.	Paul Casey, 10	1999-2000	69.873.	Phil Mickelson, 12	1991-92	69.954.	Phil Mickelson, 11	1990-91	70.085.	Billy Mayfair, 13	1986-87	70.596.	Phil Mickelson, 14	1989-90	70.827.	Chez Reavie, 14	2003-04	71.058.	Benjamin Alvarado Holley, 10	2006-07	71.199.	Alejandro Canizares, 13	2005-06	71.2210.	Alejandro Canizares, 14	2003-04	71.3811.	Chris Hanell, 13	1996-97	71.4412.	Matt Jones, 12	2000-01	71.4613.	Alejandro Canizares, 14	2004-05	71.6513.	Alejandro Canizares, 8	2002-03	71.65

ASU AT THE PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPS: Arizona State has won 11 Pac-10 titles in its 29 seasons, including a conference record six straight from 1995-2000. In addition to the six straight Pac-10 titles, ASU's other five Pac-10 titles have come in 1979 (its first year in the league), 1981, 1989, 1990 and 1993. ASU tied for the league title in 2005 with Washington but lost on a tiebreaker formula. In its past five Pac-10 championships, ASU has finished third (2003), second (2004), tied for first (2005) and third (2006 and 2007). Since joining the Pac-10 in the 1978-79 school year, ASU has finished out of the top five just twice in its 29 championships (ninth in 2002 and sixth in 1983).

BEST IN THE NATION: ASU senior Niklas Lemke entered the Pac-10 Tournament as the top-ranked player in the nation according to Golfstat and now has a 69.87 stroke average in ten tournaments with the NCAA West Regional and the NCAA Championships remaining. He earned medalist honors at the 2006 Illini Invitational (Sept. 24-25) and at the 2007 National Invitational (April 2-3). He now has eight top-five finishes on the year and 12 top-10 finishes in his 46-tournament career. He finished has second (2007 and 2006), tied for seventh (2005) and 13th (2004) in his four Pac-10 championships. He earned 2006 third-team All-American honors and was a honorable mention pick in 2005.

PAC-10 PLAYER OF YEAR: Senior Niklas has a good chance to be named the Pac-10 Player of the Year in 2007. Alejandro Canizares earned 2006 Co-Pac-10 Player of the Year honors and also earned the honor outright in 2005, joining an impressive list of Sun Devils who have won the honor including Scott Watkins (1979 co-player of the year), Dan Forsman (1981 co-player of the year), Billy Mayfair (1987), three-time NCAA champion Phil Mickelson (1990, 1991 and 1992), 1993 NCAA Champion Todd Demsey (1994), three-time Pac-10 champion Paul Casey (2000) and 2000 U.S. Amateur champion Jeff Quinney (2001 co-player of the year). Canizares was the first Pac-10 golfer to earn the honor in back-to-back seasons since Tiger Woods of Stanford in 1995-96.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder