No. 12 Cal faces No. 11 Washington

April 25, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

This Week: No. 12 California faces No. 11 Washington this weekend at Montlake Cut, in Seattle, Wash. The Bears defeated No. 17 Stanford last week.

Racing Schedule:9:00 a.m. PDT   Women's Varsity Four9:10 a.m. PDT   Women's Novice Eight9:24 a.m. PDT   Women's Second Varsity Eight9:38 a.m. PDT   Women's Varsity Eight

History of Bears vs. Huskies: The rivalry between the Washington and California men's crew has been around for over 100 years, but for the women, it started just 30 years ago. The varsity eight race, also known as the Simpson Cup, is named after former Cal rower Anne Simpson and her parents, Dottie and Hunter Simpson. The first race between the women's varsity eights was held in Washington on Montlake Cut in 1977. Cal won the inaugural race and went on to win the next three dual races. However, after 1981, the Huskies took over and won the next eight meetings between the two crews. In 1990, the Bears were able to end the losing streak and finish ahead of the Huskies, but until 2004, the Huskies had not lost since the 1990 race. This year, the Bears are looking to win a fourth-consecutive Simpson Cup.

Stanford Dual Recap (April 21, 2007): The Bears won four of their five races in dual competition against Stanford. The Cal varsity eight won their fifth-consecutive dual matchup against Stanford, finishing 4.5 seconds ahead of the Cardinal. The second varsity eight, varsity four and third varsity eight won their races, while the novice eight fell to Stanford.

Looking Ahead: After Washington, the Bears will begin preparation, for the Pac-10 championships on May 12. Last year, the Bears varsity eight, varsity four and second varsity eight won their championships, while Cal's novice eight finished third, behind Gonzaga and Washington. The Bears won their third consecutive Pac-10 team championship on their way to a second consecutive NCAA championship. Cal looks to win its third consecutive NCAA championship, a feat never before achieved by any school.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder