Conrad Ray Tabbed Pac-10 Coach of the Year

April 26, 2007

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Niklas Lemke of Arizona State and Jamie Lovemark of USC have beennamed Pac-10 Co-Golfers of the Year and Stanford coach Conrad Ray has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year in voting by the Pac-10 men's golf coaches. Lovemark also has been named Freshman of the Year. In addition, the 2007 All-Pac-10 Men's Golf Team selected by the coaches was announced.

Ray, in his third year as head coach, has directed a remarkable resurgence in Stanford golf. Stanford is currently the top-ranked team in the nation by Golfweek by virtue of winning six of the 11 tournaments it entered this year, with two other runnerup finishes. The Stanford team victories camein the Gopher Invitational, The Prestige at PGA West, the Corde Valle Classic, the UH-Hilo Invitational, the Ashworth Collegiate Invitational and the U.S. Intercollegiate. Ray is a former player and team captain at Stanford and was a member of the Cardinal's 1994 NCAA Championshipteam.

The Pac-10 golf awards and the All-Pac-10 Team are voted on by the Conference head golf coaches. Following is the complete list of honors:

Kevin Chappell, UCLA, Jr., Fresno, CA
Rob Grube, Stanford, Jr., Hinsdale, IL
Niklas Lemke, Arizona State, Sr., Linkoping, Sweden
Jamie Lovemark, USC, Fr., Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Zack Miller, Stanford, Sr., San Rafael, CA
Matt Savage, Stanford, Sr., Scottsdale, AZ

Benjamin Alvarado, Arizona State, So., Santiago, Chile
Joseph Bramlett, Stanford, Fr., Saratoga, CA
Rory Hie, USC, Fr., Lakewood, CA
Lucas Lee, UCLA, So., Torrance, CA
Alex Prugh, Washington, Sr., Spokane, WA
Brian Prouty, Arizona, Sr., Tucson, AZ

Honorable Mention: James Allenby, Fr., OSU; Tom Glissmeyer, So., USC; Daniel Im, Jr., UCLA;Michael Jensen, Jr., CAL; Daniel Lim, So., STAN; Jordan Nasser, Sr., USC; Derek Sipe, Jr., ORE;Nathan Tyler, Sr., ARIZ; Joshua Wooding, Sr., USC.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder