Prugh Named To All-Pac-10 Second-Team

April 26, 2007

WALNUT CREEK, CALIF. -- Washington senior golfer Alex Prugh was named to the All-Pac-10 second team the conference office announced Thursday. The All-Pac-10 team is based upon a vote of the league's coaches.

Prugh, a native of Spokane, Wash., earned his third-straight nod to the All-Pac-10 team after earning first-team honors last season and second-team acclaim in 2005. Prugh has been the Huskies' top player all season long, coming in as Washington's top finisher in 10 of 11 tournaments. He leads UW with a career-low 71.83 stroke average that ranks fifth in UW history. Prugh is also tied for fourth all-time with 12 career top-10 finishes in his Husky career.

This year, Prugh won his first collegiate tournament, sharing co-medalist honors at the Oregon Duck Invitational (March 26-27). Prugh finished the tournament at 2-under 214, carding rounds of 4-under 68, 4-over 76 and 2-under 70. He bested his previous career-high finish of runner-up three times: at the 2004 Big Ten/Pac-10 Challenge, the 2005 Gopher Invitational and the 2006 National Invitational. Prugh also set a new career-low 54-hole score of 201 at the Hawaii-Hilo Intercollegiate (Feb. 7-9), where he also matched his career-low single round score of 65. Prugh was Washington's top finisher at this week's Pac-10 Championships tying for 16th.

Arizona State's Niklas Lemke and USC's Jamie Lovemark were named the Pac-10 Co-Golfers of the Year and Lovemark was also named the Freshman of the Year. Stanford's Conrad Ray was selected the Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

2007 Men's Golf All-Pac-10 Team
First Team

Kevin Chappell, UCLA, Jr., Fresno, Calif.
Rob Grube, Stanford, Jr., Hinsdale, Ill.
Niklas Lemke, Arizona State, Sr., Linkoping, Sweden
Jamie Lovemark, USC, Fr., Rancho Sante Fe, Calif.
Zack Miller, Stanford, Sr., San Rafael, Calif.
Matt Savage, Stanford, Sr., Scottsdale, Ariz.

Second Team
Benjamin Alvarado, Arizona State, So., Santiago, Chile
Joseph Bramlett, Stanford, Fr., Saratoga, Calif.
Rory Hie, USC, Fr., Lakewood, Calif.
Lucas Lee, UCLA, So., Torrance, Calif.
Alex Prugh, Washington, Sr., Spokane, Wash.
Brian Prouty, Arizona, Sr., Tucson, Ariz.

Honorable Mention: James Allenby (Fr., Oregon State), Tom Glissmeyer (So., USC), Daniel Im (Jr., UCLA), Michael Jensen (Jr., Cal), Daniel Lim (So., Stanford), Jordan Nasser (Sr., USC), Derek Sipe (Jr., Oregon), Nathan Tyler (Sr., Arizona), Joshua Wooding (Sr., USC)

Pac-10 Co-Golfers of the Year: Niklas Lemke, Arizona State; Jamie Lovemark, USC
Pac-10 Freshman of the Year: Jamie Lovemark, USC
Pac-10 Coach of the Year: Conrad Ray, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder