Nordqvist and Luellen Garner Pac-10 Women's Golf Honors

April 27, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Anna Nordqvist of Arizona State has been named both Pac-10 Golfer and Freshman of the Year and Arizona State coach Melissa Luellen has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year in voting by the Pac-10 women's golf coaches. In addition, the 2007 All-Pac-10 Women's Golf Team selected by the coaches was announced.

Nordqvist, a freshman from Eskilstuna, Sweden had an amazing freshman campaign and is currently the number-two ranked player in the nation by Golfweek. In the eight tournaments she has played this season, Nordqvist has recorded one first-place finish, four second-place finishes and one fourth-place finish. Upon capturing her first tournament victory at the 2007 PING/ASU Invitational, where she shot a tournament-record-low 10-under 206 for the three-round event, she was named the Golfweek Player of the Week. Nordqvist finished in second place at the Pac-10 Championship, finishing the season with a stroke average of 71.9 in 24 rounds, including eight rounds under 70. Nordqvist is the second ASU student-athlete to earn Pac-10 Player of the Year honors and the third Sun Devil to earn Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year.

Luellen, in her fifth year as head coach, became the fourth coach to earn Pac-10 Women's Golf Coach of the Year honors in back -to-back years after winning the award last year. Arizona State is currently the top-ranked team in the nation by Golfweek by virtue of winning five of the 10 tournaments it entered this year, with two other runner-up finishes. The Sun Devils' team victories came in the Branch Law Firm/Dick McGuire Invitational, the 'Mo'morial Invitational, the PING/ASU Invitational, the Wildcat Invitational and the Pac-10 Championship. Luellen spent 11 years on the LPGA Tour, winning the 1991 Stratton Mountain LPGA Classic and teaming with Mike Springer to win the 1993 JCPenney Classic. She was also elected to the LPGA Executive Committee in her final two years on the tour and is currently a nonexempt member of the LPGA.

The Pac-10 golf awards and the All-Pac-10 Team are voted on by the Conference head golf coaches. Following is the complete list of honors:


Name, School, Yr., Hometown
Tiffany Joh, UCLA, So., San Diego, Calif.
Paola Moreno, USC, Jr., Cali, Columbia
Azahara Munoz, Arizona State, So., Malaga, Spain
Anna Nordqvist, Arizona State, Fr., Eskilstuna, Sweden
Jennider Osborn, Arizona State, So., Huntington Beach, Calif.
Alison Walshe, Arizona, Jr., Westford, Mass.


Name, School, Yr., Hometown
Mari Chun, Stanford, So., Pearl City, Hawaii
Amy Eneroth, Washignton State, So., Spokane, Wash.
Mary Jacobs, Arizona, Jr., Godfrey, Ill.
Hannah Jun, UCLA, Sr., San Diego, Calif.
Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, Stanford, Sr., Long Beach, Calif.
Lauren Todd, Stanford, Sr., Phoenix, Ariz.
Adriana Zwanck, Arizona, So., Madrid, Spain

Honorable Mention: Jessi Gebhardt, Jr., OSU; Allison Goodman, So., CAL; Sofia Janer, Fr., CAL; Catalina Marin, Sr., USC; Kim McCready, Sr., ORE; Belen Mozo, Fr., USC; Juliana Murcia, Fr., ASU; Ryann O'Toole, So., UCLA; Dewi-Claire Schreefel, Jr., USC.

PAC-10 GOLFER OF THE YEAR: Anna Nordqvist, Fr., Arizona State

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Anna Nordqvist, Fr., Arizona State

PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Melissa Luellen, Arizona State

PAC-10 SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD: Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, Sr., Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder