USC Selected No. 3 Seed In NCAA Central Regional

April 30, 2007

The No. 6 USC women's golf team, the 2003 NCAA champion and the 2006 runner-up, will get a chance to go after its second team title after being selected as the No. 3 seed in the 2007 NCAA Championships Central Regional.

The NCAA released the 63 teams that will make up the West, Central and East Regionals on Monday for the three-day event that runs May 10-12.

USC, which won the Central Regional last year at Texas A&M, will go for two in a row when it travels to Ann Arbor, Mich., to play at host-Michigan's University of Michigan G.C. It will mark the 16th consecutive NCAA appearance for USC, the last 10 under 11th-year head coach Andrea Gaston.

Eight teams plus two individuals will advance from each regional to the NCAA Championships final at the LPGA International Legends Course in Daytona Beach, Fla., May 22-25, hosted by the University of Central Florida and the Central Florida Sports Commission.

Below is information on each regional. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

East Regional

The East regional will be played May 10-12 at the University Club Golf Course, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, hosted by LSU.

1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
3. Auburn
4. Purdue
5. Texas A&M (Big 12 Conference)
6. North Carolina
7. Alabama
8. Wake Forest
9. South Carolina
10. Virginia
11. Florida State
12. LSU
13. Louisville
14. South Florida
15. North Carolina State
16. Birmingham-Southern (Big South Conference)
17. Furman
18. College of Charleston
19. Western Carolina (Southern Conference)
20. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)
21. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Araceli Felgueroso, Coastal Carolina
2. Lene Krog, East Carolina
3. Amanda Mathis, Mississippi State

Central Regional

The Central regional will be played May 10-12 at the University of Michigan Golf Course, Ann Arbor, Michigan, hosted by the University of Michigan.

1. Georgia (Southeastern Conference)
2. Vanderbilt
3. USC
4. Tennessee
5. Arizona
6. Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
7. TCU (Mountain West Conference)
8. Baylor
9. Arkansas
10. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
11. Ohio State
12. Northwestern
13. Michigan
14. Missouri
15. SMU
16. Maryland
17. Indiana
18. North Carolina-Wilmington (Colonial Athletic Association)
19. Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent Conference)
20. Southern Illinois (Missouri Valley Conference)
21. St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)

1. Gerina Mendoza, UTEP
2. Sara Wikstrom, Arkansas-Little Rock
3. Noriko Nakazaki, Notre Dame

West Regional

The West regional will be played May 10-12 at the Entrada at Snow Canyon Country Club, St. George, Utah, hosted by the Brigham Young University.

1. Arizona State (Pacific-10 Conference)
2. Pepperdine
3. Florida
4. Oklahoma State
5. Brigham Young
6. Stanford
7. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
8. New Mexico
9. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
10. San Jose State
11. UNLV
12. San Francisco
13. Hawaii
14. California
15. Idaho (Western Athletic Conference)
16. Washington State
17. Campbell (Atlantic Sun Conference)
18. Nebraska
19. Memphis (Conference USA)
20. Sacramento State (Big Sky Conference)
21. Columbia-Barnard (Ivy Group)

1. Kay Hoey, Long Beach State
2. Jennifer Shipley, Fresno State
3. Lehua Wise, New Mexico State

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder