No. 1 Women's Tennis Opens Title Defense Against Sacramento State

May 1, 2007

STANFORD, Calif.- No. 1 Stanford (20-1, 8-0 Pac-10) tries for its fourth consecutive national championship when NCAA Tournament first round competition gets underway next week.

The three-time defending national champion Cardinal will host No. 58 Sacramento State (17-6, 7-0 Big Sky) on Friday, May 11, in a 1 p.m. match at the Taube Family Tennis Stadium. The other first round contest pits No. 28 BYU (21-6, 7-1 Mountain West) against No. 41 Oregon (12-11, 0-8 Pac-10) at 10 a.m.

Friday's winners will meet on Saturday, May 12, in a second round match at noon.

Stanford owns a 100-11 record in the postseason since the NCAA Tournament went to its present format in 1982. During that time, Stanford has won 15 of 25 possible NCAA team titles, including each of the last three seasons. The Cardinal owns an 18-match winning streak in NCAA Tournament play, dating back to its last loss against Florida in the 2003 national championship. Stanford defeated Miami 4-1 to capture last year's title.

This year's Cardinal squad enters the postseason having won 17 in a row following a 4-3 defeat to then-No. 6 Georgia Tech back on Feb. 3 that snapped an NCAA-record 89-match winning streak. Not to mention the 20th Pac-10 crown in program history, which Stanford claimed with a 4-3 victory at rival California on Apr. 21 in Berkeley. Stanford owns an impressive 11-1 record against top-25 competition this year.

Stanford has won 95 consecutive regular-season matches in a row at home.

Stanford and Sacramento State were scheduled to face one another on Feb. 8 at the Taube Family Tennis Stadium, however the match was cancelled due to rain. The Cardinal blanked Oregon 7-0 at home on Mar. 10. Stanford and BYU did not face each other this year.

The Cardinal has been awarded the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament. The 16 national seeds are as follows: No. 2 Georgia, No. 3 Georgia Tech, No. 4 Florida, No. 5 Northwestern, No. 6 Notre Dame, No. 7 Clemson, No. 8 USC, No. 9 Miami, No. 10 California, No. 11 North Carolina, No. 12 UCLA, No. 13 Baylor, No. 14 Fresno State, No. 15 William & Mary and No. 16 Vanderbilt.

First and second round matches are played at campus sites. The final 16 teams will square off in the NCAA Championship at Athens, Ga., beginning Friday, May 18. The national final is set for Tuesday, May 22.

Ticket information will be posted on as it becomes available.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder