USC Men Secure No. 12 Seed Into NCAA Championships

May 1, 2007

2007 NCAA Men's Bracket (PDF)
Download Free Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES, CALIF. - After a powerful regular season in which the USC men's tennis team went undefeated on their home courts of Marks Stadium, the Trojans now turn to host the opening rounds of the NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championships from May 11-12. USC earned the No. 12 seed into this year's NCAA action with a 20-2 overall record, and will open against UC Santa Barbara in the first round on Friday, May 11. Also visiting Marks Stadium will be Pepperdine and Penn State, who will open the day with a 1 p.m. first-round match. USC and UC Santa Barbara are tentatively scheduled to face at 4 p.m. The winners of those Saturday matches will advance to the second round for a 3 p.m. match on Sunday (May 13).

USC - boasting a 20-2 overall record and a 15-0 run at home this season - grabbed an at-large selection into this year's tournament. The Trojans have put forth an outstanding turnaround from last season to this year's NCAA run. After finishing 8-14 overall last year, USC missed a place in the postseason for the first time since 1997. This season, however, USC opened up 2007 with the best season start (11-0) since 1988. Its only losses since then have come to top-seeded Georgia (26-0) and Pac-10 champion UCLA (19-3). USC's turnaround from #54 (8-14, .570) at the close of 2006 to current 2007 mark of #10 (20-2, .910) is in fact the greatest in USC history, as it marks a 167% improvement and a 44-place rankings jump.

UC Santa Barbara (6-18) enters the NCAA Championships as the automatic qualifier out of the Big West Conference. Pepperdine (22-7) also qualifies automatically as the West Coast Conference champion. Penn State (16-6) is an at-large selection.

USC has won 16 national championships as a team, last claiming the NCAA title in 2002. The Trojans are 56-27 overall in the NCAA Tournament in 28 appearances.

The winner of each opening site advances to the NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championships at Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, hosted by the University of Georgia May 17-22.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder