USC Women Earn No. 8 Seed Into NCAA Championships

May 1, 2007

2007 NCAA Women's Tennis Bracket (PDF)
Download Free Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES, CALIF. - The USC women's tennis team will begin its 16th consecutive trip to the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships on the familiar courts of USC's own Marks Stadium. The Trojans open against Boston University in the first round of NCAA action on Friday, May 11. Also visiting USC for the first two rounds of postseason play are Texas and UC Irvine, who face each other as well on May 11. Match times are tentatively set for 1 p.m. and 4 p.m. on Friday (May 11). Texas and UC Irvine will play in the first match on Friday, and USC and Boston University compete in the second match of the day. Winners will square off in the second-round match scheduled for 3 p.m. on Saturday (May 12) at Marks Stadium.

USC enters the 2007 NCAA Championships as an at-large team with a 17-4 overall record. Boston University (13-5) claimed the America East championship to qualify, and Texas (15-9) and UC Irvine (20-4) both were at-large selections.

The Women of Troy will be making their 23rd overall appearance in the NCAA team tournament. The Trojans are 49-22 all-time in NCAA Tournament play and have won seven national team titles. The 1983 and 1985 crowns were both NCAA titles, as the NCAA began its women's tennis championships in 1982. USC's 1977, 1979 and 1980 titles were AIAW championships, and in 1977 and 1978 the Trojans also claimed the USTA national championships. Last season, USC made its first trip to the NCAA Semifinals since 1988, falling in the 2006 semis to Miami.

The winner after the two rounds at Marks Stadium will advance to the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, hosted by the University of Georgia. The team championship will be held May 18-22.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder