Two Sun Devils Named Semi-Finalists For Golden Spikes Award

May 2, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Sophomore first baseman Brett Wallace and junior second baseman Eric Sogard have been named semi-finalists for the 30th Golden Spikes Award, presented annually to nation's premier amateur baseball player. Wallace and Sogard are among 50 semi-finalists for the award, which will be presented on June 29th.

Wallace currently leads the Pac-10 in nine offensive categories, including batting average (.435), home runs (13) and runs batted in (66). Sogard is also among the Pac-10 leaders in eleven offensive categories, including trailing only Wallace for most hits in the conference.

Arizona State University baseball has a rich history with the Golden Spikes Award, as three Sun Devils have earned the honor. The first ever Golden Spikes winner was an ASU Sun Devil, as Bob Horner took home the inaugural award in 1978. Oddibe McDowell won the award in 1984 and Mike Kelly earned the distinction in 1991. ASU is tied with Florida State and Cal State Fullerton for the most Golden Spikes Award winners.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder