Seven Teams and 17 Individuals Chosen to Compete in NCAA Women's Tennis Championships

May 4, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Team Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS - Seven Pac-10 teams, 15 singles players, and four doubles duos have all been chosen to participate in the NCAA Women's Tennis Championships, beginning with regional team play on May 11. Four Conference teams are among the top-16 seeds, and seven of the top-16 women in the singles draw also hail from the Conference of Champions. Stanford is the three-time reigning team champion, while California's Susie Babos will defend her 2006 NCAA Singles Championship.

The 16 teams to win regionals advance to Athens, Georgia for the final four rounds, while the NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships also take place in Athens, at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex, from May 23-28.

Stanford (8-0 Pac-10, 20-1) is the overall top seed after winning the Pac-10 for the 20th consecutive season. The Cardinal host their regional and open up against Sacramento State on Friday, May 11. With a first round win, Stanford could face Oregon (0-8, 12-11), which faces BYU in the other half of Stanford's regional. The Ducks struggled in Pac-10 play but did enough outside the league to maintain a No. 41 national ranking and earn a spot in the field.

USC earned the tourney's eighth seed, and will host first and second round play on May 12-13 at Marks Stadium. The Trojans (6-2, 17-4) face Boston University in round one.

10th-seeded California hosts regional play at Hellman Tennis Center on May 12-13. The Golden Bears (5-3, 19-6) meet Southeastern Louisiana in round one, then face a potentially tough second round match against Arizona State, the 18th-ranked team in the country. The Sun Devils (4-3, 12-9) first must get past UNLV to set up the Pac-10 showdown. Cal took both matches from ASU during the season, but one was a hard-fought 4-3 decision.

The final Pac-10 team to host regional play is UCLA (6-2, 16-7), which earned the No. 12 seed and takes on Quinnipiac in the first round on May 12 at the Los Angeles Tennis Center.

Arizona (3-4, 9-13) is the only Conference team leaving the west coast for regional play, as they travel to the regional hosted by third-seeded Georgia Tech in Atlanta, Georgia. The 40th-ranked Wildcats play the 33rd-ranked Wildcats from Kentucky on May 12 in the first round.

The singles field is loaded with Pac-10 talent, led by last year's champion, Babos, and the woman she beat in the singles final, Lindsey Nelson of USC. Nelson earned some revenge against Babos just last weekend when she defeated the Cal star in the finals of the Pac-10 Championships. With the win, Nelson earned the fourth overall seed, while Babos is seeded fifth. Also earned 9-16 seeds are Celia Durkin and Theresa Logar of Stanford, Sarah Fansler of USC, Zsuzsanna Fodor of Cal, and Riza Zalameda of UCLA.

Further Pac-10 players heading to Athens include Danielle Steinberg of Arizona, Nadia Abdala of Arizona State, Nina Henkel of Cal, Lindsay Burdette, Jessica Nguyen, and Anne Yelsey of Stanford, and Tracy Lin and Yasmin Schnack of UCLA.

In the doubles draw, Cal's Babos and Fodor earned a 5-8 seed, while ASU's Kady Pooler and Roxanne Clarke, Stanford's Yelsey and Burdette, and UCLA's Zalameda and Schnack earned at-large bids. A Pac-10 tandem captured the NCAA Doubles Championship every year from 2002-05.

The Pac-10 has dominated women's tennis historically. Fifteen of 25 NCAA Singles and Doubles Champions hailed from the Pac-10, and 17 of the 25 NCAA Team Champions are Pac-10 squads. Stanford has captured five of the past six team titles.

- -

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder