UCLA Leads Pac-10 Contingent in NCAA Team and Individual Championships

May 4, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Team Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS - The full fields have been announced for the upcoming NCAA Men's Tennis Championships. Four Pac-10 teams will begin their quest for an NCAA title at regional sites on May 11-12. Ninth-seeded UCLA and No. 12-seed USC both host regional play, while unseeded California and Washington also will compete for the right to advance to Athens, Georgia, where the final 16 teams will meet.

The Bruins (7-0 Pac-10, 19-3) captured their third-straight Pac-10 Championship with a 4-3 win over USC (6-1 Pac-10, 20-2) in the final match of the regular season. UCLA hosts UNLV at the Los Angeles Tennis Center on May 11 in the first round of play. The Trojans meanwhile take on UC Santa Barbara in the first round, with a possible second round meeting with 2006 NCAA Champion Pepperdine.

Washington (4-3 Pac-10, 16-6) finished tied for third in the Conference, and travels to South Bend, Indiana for an opening round dual with Wisconsin. Host-school and No. 5-seed Notre Dame is the likely second round opponent. The Huskies have already journeyed to South Bend once this season, losing to the Fighting Irish in early March.

California (4-3 Pac-10, 14-9) also tied for third in the Pac-10, and heads to Stillwater, Okla. where it faces the Oklahoma Sooners on May 12, with the potential of playing eighth-seeded Oklahoma State on May 13.

The final four rounds of team play, and the NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships will be hosted by the University of Georgia at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens. Several Pac-10 singles and doubles players already have reservations in Athens, as they were selected to be part of the individual draws.

Highlighting the NCAA Singles Championsips is UCLA senior and defending NCAA Singles Champion Benjamin Kohlloeffel. The native of Herne, Germany is the fourth-seed in the singles draw, and will attempt to become the first repeat champion since Georgia's Matias Boeker in 2001 and 2002.

Also earning singles draw bids are UCLA's 26th-ranked Haythem Abid and 47th-ranked Chris Surapol, Cal's No. 26 Pierre Mouillon, USC's No. 36 Jamil Al-Agba and No. 52 Dejan Cvetkovic, and Matt Bruch of Stanford, whose title at last week's Pac-10 Championships shot him up more than 50 spots in this week's rankings to No. 58 to just make the NCAA field.

Only two doubles teams will represent the Pac-10: 12th-ranked Bruch and Blake Muller of Stanford, and 14th-ranked Kohlloeffel and Philipp Gruendler of UCLA.

The individual championships will be conducted May 23-28, following the conclusion of the team championship. UCLA was the last Pac-10 team to win the team title, defeating top-ranked Baylor in the final in 2005.

- www.pac-10.org -

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder