Stanford Women Prepare For NCAA West Regional

May 7, 2007

Stanford, Calif. - The Stanford women's golf team, seeded sixth, prepares for the 2007 NCAA West Regional, May 10-12, in St. George, Utah at Entrada at the Snow Canyon Country Club. The regional is hosted by BYU and will be held at the Estrada at Snow Canyon Country Club. Twenty-one teams and three individuals were selected to compete in each of the three regional championships. The West Regional includes eight teams ranked in the top-25 in the most recent Golf World/NGCA Coaches Poll.

The tournament format calls for 18 holes to be played Thursday through Saturday at the par-71, 6,234-yard Entrada at Snow Canyon Country Club.

The top eight teams and two individuals from each regional will qualify for the 2007 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championships to be held May 22-25 at the LPGA International Golf Course in Dayton Beach, Fla.

A total of 21 teams and three individuals from across the country have qualified for the 2007 NCAA West Regional. In order of seeding, the field includes: 1. Arizona State, 2. Pepperdine, 3. Florida, 4. Oklahoma State, 5. Brigham Young, 6. Stanford, 7. Denver, 8. New Mexico, 9. UC Irvine, 10. San Jose State, 11. UNLV, 12. San Francisco, 13. Hawaii, 14. California, 15. Idaho, 16. Washington State, 17. Campbell, 18, Nebraska, 19. Memphis, 20. Sacramento State, 21. Columbia-Barnard. Individuals include Kay Hoey, LBSU; Jennifer Shipley, Fresno State; Lehua Wise, New Mexico State.

Live scoring of the NCAA West Regional Championship will be available at

Stanford will be paired with BYU and Oklahoma State for the first round with tee times beginning at 8:58 a.m.

The Cardinal will field the following team for the NCAA West Regional: Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, Lauren Todd, Mari Chun, Catherina Wang and Angela King.

The Cardinal are making their 15th consecutive appearance at an NCAA Regional, dating back to the 1993 season. Stanford recently finished sixth at the Pac-10 Championships and had three student-athlete named to the All-Pac-10 second team: Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, Lauren Todd and Mari Chun.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder