Troy Tabbed No. 4 Seed In NCAA Championships West Regional

May 7, 2007

The USC men's golf team, ranked No. 5 in the latest Top 25 and fresh off a dominating win in the recently completed Pac-10 Championships, will make its 37th consecutive NCAA Championships appearance after it was tabbed as the No. 4 seed in the 2007 NCAA Championships West Regional, the NCAA announced on Monday (May 7).

Three 27-team regional tournaments (including six individual players) will be conducted May 17-19 to determine the final championship field, set for May 30-June 2, at Golden Horseshoe G.C. in Williamsburg, Va. Virginia Commonwealth University is the host institution.

Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

USC is one of nine Pac-10 schools that qualified for the 81-team field and all nine were placed in the West Regional. Washington State was the only Pac-10 school that did not get selected.

In addition to USC, eight other schools ranked in the current Top 25 will play in the West Regional. They are No. 2 Stanford, No. 8 UCLA, No. 9 UNLV, No. 13 East Tennessee State, No. 15 BYU, No. 19 Arizona State, No. 21 Wake Forest and No. 22 Arizona.

A year ago, USC participated in the NCAA East Regional, but did not qualify for the NCAA Championships after finishing tied for 15th. Then-senior Taylor Wood, however, finished tied for second to earn a spot as an individual in the NCAA Championships.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in this year's championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

The Golf Club of Georgia in Alpharetta, Ga.; Hosted by Georgia Tech

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1. Georgia
2. Clemson
3. Florida
4. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
5. Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast Conference)
6. Georgia State
7. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)
8. North Carolina
9. Florida State
10. Duke
11. Auburn
12. Mississippi
13. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
14. Alabama-Birmingham
15. UCF
16. Virginia Tech
17. Penn State
18. Old Dominion (Colonial Athletic Association)
19. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)
20. Louisiana-Lafayette (Sun Belt Conference)
21. St. John's (New York)
22. Eastern Michigan (Mid-American Conference)
23. Maryland
24. Longwood
25. Rhode Island
26. Hartford
27. Boston College

1. Duncan Stewart, Jacksonville
2. Fredric Sundberg, Campbell
3. Chris Narramore, Middle Tennessee
4. Matt Cook, Western Carolina
5. Russell Knox, Jacksonville
6. Jeff Dennis, North Florida

Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill.; Hosted by Northern Illinois

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1. Alabama
2. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
3. Lamar (Southland Conference)
4. Texas A&M
5. Louisville (Big East Conference)
6. Tennessee (Southeastern Conference)
7. Tulsa (Conference USA)
8. Texas
9. TCU
10. Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
11. Minnesota
12. Southeastern Louisiana
13. Northwestern
14. Texas Tech
15. Wisconsin
16. Purdue
17. Wichita State
18. Southern Methodist
19. Baylor
20. Kansas
21. Colorado
22. Nebraska
23. Oklahoma
24. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)
25. Western Illinois (Mid-Continent Conference)
26. Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
27. Texas Southern (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Andrew Landry, Arkansas
2. Jorge Campillo, Indiana
3. Jordan Irwin, Houston
4. Mauricio Tamez, Oral Roberts
5. Mike Van Sickle, Marquette
6. Jason Kokrak, Xavier

Karsten Creek G.C. in Phoenix, Ariz.; Hosted by Arizona State

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1. Stanford
4. USC (Pacific-10 Conference)
5. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
6. Brigham Young (Mountain West Conference)
7. Arizona State
8. Wake Forest
9. Arizona
10. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
11. South Carolina
12. Washington
13. Vanderbilt
14. Augusta State
15. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
16. San Diego State
17. New Mexico
18. Oregon State
19. Colorado State
20. Oregon
21. California
22. Nevada (Western Athletic Conference)
23. Denver
24. Pennsylvania (Ivy Group)
25. Detroit (Horizon League)
26. Bucknell (Patriot League)
27. Monmouth (Northeast Conference)

1. Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
2. Dustin Pimm, Utah
3. Darrin Hall, San Diego
4. Michael McRae, St. Mary's (California)
5. Geoff Gonzalez, Cal Poly
6. Thomas Petersson, Pacific

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder