NCAA Championships Central Regional Next Up For Troy

May 8, 2007

The No. 6 USC women's golf team, the 2003 NCAA champion and the 2006 runner-up, begins its quest for a second team title as the No. 3 seed in the 2007 NCAA Championships Central Regional, Thursday through Saturday (May 10-12), at the University of Michigan G.C. in Ann Arbor, Mich.

Eight teams plus two individuals will advance from each 21-team regional to the NCAA Championships final at the LPGA International Legends Course in Daytona Beach, Fla., May 22-25, hosted by the University of Central Florida and the Central Florida Sports Commission.

USC, which won the Central Regional last year at Texas A&M, will go for two in a row as it makes its 16th consecutive NCAA appearance, the last 10 under 11th-year head coach Andrea Gaston. USC will be striving to make its 10th straight NCAA Championships final as well.

Seven teams ranked in the current Top 25 will be competing for one of the eight spots that will advance out of the Central Regional. They are No. 3 Georgia, No. 6 USC, No. 9 Vanderbilt, No. 13 Tennessee, No. 15 Arizona, No. 20 Michigan State and No. 24 TCU.

After a practice round on Wednesday (May 9), play begins on Thursday at 8 a.m. (CST) with starting tee times the same on Friday and Saturday. The University of Michigan course, designed in the late 1920s, is par 71 and 6,116 yards.

Full NCAA Championships Regional pairings are available at the bottom of this release.

Paola Moreno
USC is led by junior Paola Moreno, who is ranked No. 13 in the country by She boasts a team-best 73.70 stroke average and has finished among the top 17 in eight of nine tournaments this year, including three in the top 7 and three other times in the top 11. She fired a season-low 69 in the Las Vegas Collegiate Showdown. She was seventh at the Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational and tied for seventh at both the Daytona Beach Fall Preview and the 2007 Pac-10 Championships.

Dewi Claire Schreefel
Junior two-time All-American and 2006 defending NCAA individual champion Dewi Claire Schreefel, ranked No. 44, posted her best finish at the Arizona Wildcat Invitational, a tie for second. In late March, Schreefel played as an amateur in the 2007 Kraft Nabisco Championship on the LPGA Tour at the Mission Hills C.C. in Rancho Mirage, Calif. She posted a 155 (79-76, +11) but didn't make the cut. At the recently completed Pac-10 Championships, she tied for seventh with teammate Paola Moreno. Her stroke average of 75.24 is second best on the team.

Belen Mozo
Spring semester transfer freshman Belen Mozo made her debut at the Northrop Grumman Regional Challenge in February and led the team with a tie for eighth place, firing a three-day 221. She finished in the top 20 in her first four spring starts and tied for 30th in the other (at the 2007 Pac-10 Championships). Mozo, third on the team with a 75.60 stroke average, is coming off a highly successful 2006 amateur season. She won the 2006 Girls' British Open Amateur Championship and the British Ladies Open Amateur Championships, making her the first woman to win both titles in the same year since 1972. She also won the International European Ladies Amateur Championship.

Catalina Marin
Senior Catalina Marin, ranked No. 78, has a stroke average of 76.04, fourth best on the squad. She has a pair of top 10 finishes, at the Topy Cup and the Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational, and four other top 30 finishes. She has posted a season-low round of 73 five times.

Veronica Felibert
Senior Veronica Felibert has a stroke average of 77.25. She won USC's first tourney of the season, the Topy Cup in Japan, with a three-round 217. Her other top 20 finish came when she was among three Trojans who tied for 17th at the Las Vegas Collegiate Showdown. She has carded a season-low round of 70 twice.

USC has finished among the top 5 in six of nine events this year and tied for sixth in another. Its only team title was the season-opening Topy Cup.

Trojans at the World Amateur Team Championships
Veronica Felibert (Venezuela), Dewi Claire Schreefel (The Netherlands) and Belen Mozo (Spain) all represented their respective countries at the 2006 World Amateur Team Championships in Stellenbosch, South Africa, October 18-21.

Schreefel tied for 24th in the125-woman field, carding a four-round 291 (+3) that included a second-round 3-under 69. The Netherlands tied for 11th overall in the 42-country field.

Mozo tied for 29th with a 293 (+5). Spain finished eighth and Mozo's best round was a 1-under 71 on the first day.

Felibert tied for 55th with a 301 (+13), her best effort a par-72 on the second day. Venezuela finished tied for 30th.

Schreefel and Felibert missed USC's last tournament because of their commitments to the WATC, but are scheduled to resume competition next week at the Las Vegas Collegiate Showdown, Oct. 30-Nov. 1.

Below is information on each regional. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

East Regional

The East regional will be played May 10-12 at the University Club Golf Course, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, hosted by LSU.

1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
3. Auburn
4. Purdue
5. Texas A&M (Big 12 Conference)
6. North Carolina
7. Alabama
8. Wake Forest
9. South Carolina
10. Virginia
11. Florida State
12. LSU
13. Louisville
14. South Florida
15. North Carolina State
16. Birmingham-Southern (Big South Conference)
17. Furman
18. College of Charleston
19. Western Carolina (Southern Conference)
20. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)
21. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Araceli Felgueroso, Coastal Carolina
2. Lene Krog, East Carolina
3. Amanda Mathis, Mississippi State

Central Regional

The Central regional will be played May 10-12 at the University of Michigan Golf Course, Ann Arbor, Michigan, hosted by the University of Michigan.

1. Georgia (Southeastern Conference)
2. Vanderbilt
3. USC
4. Tennessee
5. Arizona
6. Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
7. TCU (Mountain West Conference)
8. Baylor
9. Arkansas
10. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
11. Ohio State
12. Northwestern
13. Michigan
14. Missouri
15. SMU
16. Maryland
17. Indiana
18. North Carolina-Wilmington (Colonial Athletic Association)
19. Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent Conference)
20. Southern Illinois (Missouri Valley Conference)
21. St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)

1. Gerina Mendoza, UTEP
2. Sara Wikstrom, Arkansas-Little Rock
3. Noriko Nakazaki, Notre Dame

West Regional

The West regional will be played May 10-12 at the Entrada at Snow Canyon Country Club, St. George, Utah, hosted by the Brigham Young University.

1. Arizona State (Pacific-10 Conference)
2. Pepperdine
3. Florida
4. Oklahoma State
5. Brigham Young
6. Stanford
7. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
8. New Mexico
9. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
10. San Jose State
11. UNLV
12. San Francisco
13. Hawaii
14. California
15. Idaho (Western Athletic Conference)
16. Washington State
17. Campbell (Atlantic Sun Conference)
18. Nebraska
19. Memphis (Conference USA)
20. Sacramento State (Big Sky Conference)
21. Columbia-Barnard (Ivy Group)

1. Kay Hoey, Long Beach State
2. Jennifer Shipley, Fresno State
3. Lehua Wise, New Mexico State

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder