Bruins to Face No. 5 Northwestern in Round of 16 at NCAA Championships

May 15, 2007

No. 12 Bruins to Face No. 5 Northwestern in NCAA Tournament
After advancing through NCAA Regional play over the weekend, the 12th-seeded UCLA women's tennis team (18-7) heads to Athens, Ga. this week to take part in the 16-team NCAA Championships hosted by the University of Georgia. The Bruins open up play this Friday, taking on fifth-seeded Northwestern (23-4) at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex beginning at 9:00 a.m. (EST). The winner of that match gets either fourth-seeded Florida or 13th-seeded Baylor in the quarterfinals.

Bruins vs. Wildcats - The Rematch
Friday's showdown between UCLA and Northwestern will mark the second meeting between the two teams this season, as the Wildcats posted a 5-2 victory over the Bruins in the first round of the USTA/ITA National Team Indoors back in early February. Northwestern leads the all-time series 3-2.

Against the NCAA Field
UCLA owns a 4-6 record against the 15 other teams still alive in the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins' wins have come against USC, Cal, Fresno State and Baylor. UCLA's six losses were to Stanford (twice), Northwestern, Clemson, USC and Cal.

Success in Georgia
Three seasons ago in Athens, UCLA equaled its best showing in the NCAA Tournament by advancing all the way to the finals. The Bruins defeated USC, 4-2 in the round of 16 before knocking off Miami, 4-3 in the quarterfinals and Clemson, 4-0 in the semis. Top-seeded Stanford ended UCLA's run in the final, winning 4-1.

UCLA is First to 100
UCLA recently became the first school in the country to win 100 NCAA team championships, as the Bruin women's water polo team defeated top-ranked Stanford, 5-4 in the NCAA Final on Sunday in Los Alamitos, Calif. UCLA has won 70 NCAA championships in men's sports and 30 in women's sports. Sixteen different programs - nine men and seven women - have won at least one NCAA team championship. The UCLA women's tennis team is seeking its first NCAA title.

Last Year's Team Championships
Unseeded in last year's NCAA Tournament, the Bruins won two matches in regional play at Pepperdine before advancing to the round of 16 in Stanford, Calif. In Malibu, UCLA opened up with a 4-0 victory over SDSU before upsetting No. 13 Pepperdine by the same score in the second round. Once in Stanford, the Bruins dropped a tough 4-3 decision to No. 4 Florida.

UCLA's NCAA Team History
UCLA's best team showing at the NCAA Championships is second place, as the Bruins have finished runner-up on four occasions (1982, 1989, 1991 and 2004). UCLA actually won the national title a year before the NCAA became the governing body of women's athletics (UCLA's 1981 title is from the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women - AIAW). The Bruins have advanced to the round of 16 in each of the last seven seasons.

Three Bruins Selected for NCAA Singles & Doubles Tournaments
Junior Riza Zalameda, freshman Yasmin Schnack and junior Tracy Lin will all be competing in the NCAA singles tournament, taking place immediately following the team championships. Zalameda, who reached the semifinals as a freshman and the quarterfinals last year, is a 9-16 seed in the tournament. Schnack and Zalameda have been selected to compete in the NCAA doubles draw. The Bruin tandem of Elizabeth Lumpkin and Stephanie Wetmore is an alternate doubles team and will get in if several teams drop out.

Individual History at the NCAAs
Keri Phebus is the Bruins' lone NCAA singles champion, capturing the title in 1995. She also won the NCAA doubles crown that same season, teaming with Susie Starrett. Four other Bruin doubles teams have went on to win the title, most recently Daniela Bercek and Lauren Fisher in 2004. UCLA's other doubles winners are: Lynn Lewis/Heather Ludloff (1982), Allyson Cooper/Stella Sampras (1988) and Mamie Ceniza/Iwalani McCalla (1992).

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder