Slovic Earns First-Team All-Pac-10 Honors

May 15, 2007

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Washington senior Alex Slovic was named a first-team selection to the All-Pac-10 team for men's tennis, the conference offices announced on Tuesday. Slovic is the third Husky to earn all-conference honors four times in his career and joins Alex Vlaski as the second to be named to the first-team three times.

Slovic, from Pancevo Yugoslavia, was a first-team selection as a freshman and a junior and earned second-team recognition as a sophomore. He earned Co-Freshman of the Year honors in 2004.

Slovic played exclusively at No. 1 singles and doubles this season and posted a record of 21-11 in singles and 16-9 in doubles. Slovic wrapped up his career as the all-time Husky leader in combined wins (180), doubles wins (83), and was fourth in singles victories (97).

Slovic was 11-3 overall in singles against Pac-10 opponents, including 4-2 against ranked conference foes. All three of his losses against Pac-10 opponents came to fellow All-Conference Team members.

UCLA's Benjamin Kohlloeffel was named the Pac-10 Men's Tennis Player of the Year, as well as half of the Doubles Team of the Year along with his partner, Philipp Gruendler. Arizona State's Matt Brooklyn was awarded Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and USC's Peter Smith earned Coach of the Year distinction.

All-Pac-10 Men's Tennis Teams
First Team
Haythem Abid, So., UCLA
Jamil Al-Agba, Sr., USC
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, Sr., UCLA
Pierre Mouillon, Jr., CAL
Juan Carlos Rebaza, Jr., ASU
Alex Slovic, Sr., WASH

Second Team
Matt Brooklyn, Fr., ASU
Matt Bruch, So., STAN
Claudio Christen, Jr., ARIZ
Dejan Cvetkovic, Sr., USC
Chris Surapol, Sr., UCLA
Kaes Van't Hof, Jr., USC
Richard Wire, Fr., STAN

Honorable Mention
Tyler Browne, Sr., CAL
Robert Farah, Fr., USC
Philipp Gruendler, Sr., UCLA

Pac-10 Player of the Year
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, Sr., UCLA

Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, Sr., and Philipp Gruendler, Sr., UCLA

Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year
Matt Brooklyn, Fr., ASU

Pac-10 Coach of the Year
Peter Smith, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder