Three Women's Tennis Players Earn All-Pac-10 Honors

May 15, 2007

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The UCLA women's tennis team placed three players on All-Pac-10 Conference teams Tuesday, as Riza Zalameda, Tracy Lin and Yasmin Schnack were all honored by the league.

It marks the first time that Zalameda has been named to the first team after being a second-team selection in 2005 and 2006. It is Lin's second All-Pac-10 honor as she was an honorable mention selection a year ago.

USC junior Lindsey Nelson has been named the Pac-10 Women's Tennis Player of the Year. Also, California junior Susie Babos and senior Zsuzsanna Fodor have been named Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year, USC freshman Sarah Fansler has been awarded Freshman/Newcomer of the Year, and STANFORD'S Lele Forood earns the Coach of the Year distinction.

Nelson, a native of Villa Park, Calif., is the reigning Conference singles champion, after marching through the field without dropping a set from April 26-29 at the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai, Calif. Nelson is currently ranked fifth in the ITA Rankings, and is the No. 4 seed heading into the upcoming NCAA Singles Championships. Nelson also was victorious at the 2007 National Collegiate Tennis Classic in January, defeating four players currently ranked in the top-100. She currently owns a singles record of 26-6, and is 14-5 in dual matches, playing No. 1 for the eighth-ranked Trojans in all but one match. Nelson's NCAA seeding will earn her the third singles All-American award in her three years. She is just the second Trojan to win the award, following Nicole Leimbach in 2005.

Babos and Fodor each hail from Hungary, Babos from Sopron and Fodor from Budapest. The duo are the first Golden Bears to win Doubles Team of the Year. Babos and Fodor spent much of the season ranked in the top-10 of the ITA Rankings and are currently fifth. Heading into the NCAA Doubles Championships, Babos and Fodor have earned a 5-8 seed. They have a 35-9 record this season, and went 20-5 in dual play. The two also captured the ITA Northwest Regional Championships in the fall. Fansler was a quarterfinalist at the Pac-10 Championships

Fansler, a native of Laguna Beach, Calif., is the second-straight Trojan to be named Freshman of the Year, following teammate Amanda Fink. Fansler is the only freshman on the All-Conference first team, after a 32-9 freshman campaign that is continuing on in the NCAA team and individual tournaments. Fansler was 16-4 in regular season dual matches, playing predominantly No. 2 singles. She came on strong in the fall, winning the ITA Western Regional Championships to earn a No. 9 preseason ranking. Fansler is currently ranked 11th in the ITA Rankings and has earned a 9-16 seed in the NCAA Singles Championships.

Stanford's Forood guided the Cardinal to its 20th-consecutive Pac-10 Championship. Stanford has gone 10-for-10 since the north and south divisions merged for the 1998 season. Forood kept the Cardinal on top despite losing some of the top seniors in the nation last year, and competing against some of the toughest teams in the nation on a regular basis. Stanford's NCAA-record 89-match winning streak was snapped this season at the ITA National Team Indoor Championships by Georgia Tech, but since the loss the Cardinal have won 19 in a row and moved back on top of the ITA Rankings. Stanford is the overall No. 1 seed in the NCAA Championshpis, as it goes for its fourth-straight NCAA title. Forood, currently in the seventh year, has led the Cardinal to a dominating 190-4 record in her tenure. This is her third Pac-10 Coach of the Year award.

2007 Pac-10 Women's Tennis All-Conference

First Team
Susie Babos, Jr., CAL
Sarah Fansler, Fr., USC
Zsuzsanna Fodor, Sr., CAL
Theresa Logar, Sr., STAN
Lindsey Nelson, Jr., USC
Riza Zalameda, Jr., UCLA

Second Team
Nadia Abdala, Fr., ASU
Sabrina Capannolo, Sr., ASU
Celia Durkin, Jr., STAN
Nina Henkel, Fr., CAL
Tracy Lin, Jr., UCLA
Jessica Nguyen, So., STAN
Yasmin Schnack, Fr., UCLA
Danielle Steinberg, So., ARIZ
Anne Yelsey, Sr., STAN

Honorable Mention
Lindsay Burdette, Fr., STAN
Roxanne Clarke, Sr., ASU
Amanda Fink, So., USC
Juliette Mavroleon, Jr., ARIZ
Kady Pooler, Sr., ASU

Pac-10 Player of the Year
Lindsey Nelson, Jr., USC

Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year
Susie Babos, Jr., and Zsuzsanna Fodor, Sr., CAL

Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year
Sarah Fansler, Fr., USC

Pac-10 Coach of the Year
Lele Forood, STAN

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder