Cara Troelstra Named to the CRCA All-Region Rowing Team

May 21, 2007

Cara Troelstra was named to the 2007 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-West Region team. The All-Region awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers from each of the five Division I regions, organized into first and second-team selections.

Troelstra, a senior from Halifax, Nova Scotia, was named captain of the women's rowing program at the start of the season. She is in her first season as a member of the varsity crew at UW. After hip surgery sidelined her during her sophomore season, she helped the Huskies to a fourth-place finish at the Pac-10 Championships in 2006.

This year, Troelstra stroked the varsity eight, helping UW to a Windermere Cup title on May 5.

Troelstra and the 16th-ranked varsity Husky eight will be in Oak Ridge, Tenn., this weekend for the 2007 NCAA Championships.

CRCA All-Region Teams
1st Team Selections
Kelly Steinhaus, Gonzaga University
Kaylie Towne, Oregon State University
Elle Logan, Stanford University
Kerry Birk, Stanford University
Mara Allen, University of California, Berkeley
Megan Smith, University of California, Berkeley
Vanessa Teff, University of California, Los Angles
Lauren Cowan, University of Southern California (coxswain)
Magda Madziewicz, University of Southern California
Ligita Kaviere, University of Southern California
Gabriela Varekova, University of Southern California
Cara Troelstra, University of Washington
Sarah Waterfield, Washington State University

2nd Team Selections
Caroline Leibinger, Oregon State University
Janine Lacrosse, Sacramento State University
Jessi Reel, Stanford University
Lauren Hofmayer, Stanford University
Jenifer Brown, Stanford University (coxswain)
Taryn O'Connell, University of California, Berkeley
Lynn Hancock, University of California, Los Angles
Jacquelyn Harris, University of San Diego
Dunja Pejcic, University of Southern California

1st Team Selections
Sarah Cooper , Clemson University
Lia Hart , Duke University
Krystina Sarff , University of Central Florida
Caitlin Pauls , University of Central Florida
Beth Daunhauer , University of Louisville
Elizabeth McIntee, University of North Carolina
Erin-Monique Shelton, University of Tennessee
Rachel Mayberry, University of Tennessee
Luise Fleischhaurer, University of Texas
Melanie Kok, University of Virginia
Kerry Maher, University of Virginia
Libby McCann, University of Virginia
Caitlin Mixter, University of Virginia (coxswain)

2nd Team Selections
Gwen Coleman, Duke University
Meg Gaab, Southern Methodist University
Stephanie Pauls, University of Central Florida
Nicole Alderson, University of Louisville ,
Krista Gearing, University of Tennessee
Renee Brittle , University of Tennessee
Stephanie Davis, University of Tennessee (coxswain)
Michelle Sechser, University of Tulsa
Sarah Lippa, University of Virginia

New England
1st Team Selections
Rachel Dearborn, Brown University
Alex Hammer, Brown University
Anne Kennedy, Dartmouth College
Laura Lee Larsen-Strecker, Harvard University
Ester Lofgren, Harvard University
Katherine Glessner, Northeastern University
Tamara Burman, University of Rhode Island
Emily Cleveland, Yale University (coxswain)
Tess Gerrand, Yale University
Rachel Jeffers, Yale University
Jamie Redman, Yale University

2nd Team Selections
Elizabeth Fison, Brown University
Devorah West, Brown University
Kate Davison, Dartmouth College
Rachel Stephenson, Northeastern University
Olga Solovyova, University of Connecticut
Taylor Ritzel, Yale University

1st Team Selections
Gabriele Albertavituce, Ohio State University
Annabelle Fago, Ohio State University
Jessica Shepherd, Ohio State University
Amanda Polk, University of Notre Dame
Allison Marsh, University of Notre Dame
Maria Romano, University of Notre Dame (coxswain)
Jennifer Barnes, University of Minnesota
Cheryl Wick, University of Minnesota
Emily Shea, University of Michigan
Susan Masterson, University of Wisconsin
Roz Bialczak, Michigan State University

2nd Team Selections
Clare Briony, Ohio State University
Laura Pearson, University of Notre Dame
Meghan Boyle, University of Notre Dame
Vilma Stragyte, University of Minnesota
Karen Colwell, University of Michigan
Jess Bartelt, University of Wisconsin (coxswain)
Kirsten Kuhn, University of Wisconsin
Elizabeth Tremblay, University of Cincinnati
Katie Larder, Easter Michigan University

Mid Atlantic
1st Team Selection
Katherine Brewster-Duffy, Bucknell University
Whittney Henry, Bucknell University
Jeweliet Yost, Bucknell University (coxswain)
Emily Tvetenstrand, Columbia University
Kristin Haraldsdottir, Princeton University
Carrie Kruse, Princeton University
Genevra Stone, Princeton University
Kaitlin Coulter, Rutgers University
Katie Schneider, Syracuse University
Gabrielle Papineau, University of Massachusetts
Valerie Hutchins, University of Pennsylvania
Gracie Kaplan-Stein, University of Pennsylvania
Lindsey Spiese, U.S. Naval Academy

2nd Team Selection
Kelly Henkler, Bucknell University
Lindsey Hochman, Colgate University
Genevieve Joy, Columbia University
Kate Austin, George Washington University
Danielle Villoch, Princeton University
Kara Ellison, University of Pennsylvania
Iska Hain, University of Pennsylvania
Kristin Lyles, U.S. Naval Academy (coxswain)
Abby Maxwell, U.S. Naval Academy

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder