Three Sun Devils Named to's All-Reliable Team

May 24, 2007

ArizonaStateUniversity seniors Ryan Torain, Josh Barrett and Jonathan Johnson were each named to the 2007 All-Reliable Team, the website announced Thursday.


The team recognizes the most consistent and dependable offensive, defensive and special teams players nationwide.


In his first season at ASU, Torain showcased one of the most impressive seasons by a Sun Devil tailback in recent history by rushing for 1,229 yards on 223 carries (5.5 avg.) with seven rushing touchdowns in 2006. The first Sun Devil to surpass 1,000 rushing yards since the 2001 season, the Shawnee Mission, Kan., native lost only one fumble on the season and lost the fewest yards (50) among all Pac-10 ballcarriers to rush over 185 times for the season. A reliable back with the power to break tackles and the speed to evade defenders, Torain figures to be a focal point of the Sun Devil offense as a senior in 2007.


Barrett became one of the most dependable defensive backs in the Pac-10 Conference, earning honorable mention All-Pac-10, while being named ASU's Defensive Most Valuable Player. A rare combination of incredible size (6-3, 231) and elite speed, the Reno, Nev., native started all 13 games at safety for the Sun Devils, leading the team in tackles (82) and interceptions (three), while also tallying 7.5 tackles-for-loss and six pass break-ups.  Equally consistent on and off the field, Barrett earned first-team Pac-10 All-Academic recognition as a junior in 2006 and is one of eight active Sun Devils to have already earned his undergraduate degree, doing so in May of 2007.


A position that had previously been a concern at ASU became a tremendous strength in 2006, as punter Jonathan Johnson enjoyed an excellent debut season at ASU.  On the year, the former junior college transfer averaged 41.5 yards on 54 attempts, without suffering a blocked punt.  He also forced fair catches or dropped punts inside the opponents' 20-yard line on 39 percent of his kicks (12 inside the 20, nine fair catches).


The Sun Devils kickoff the 2007 season on Sept. 1 (7 p.m.) at Sun Devil Stadium against San JoseState. All-Reliable Team



Andre Woodson, Kentucky

Colt Brennan, Hawaii

John David Booty, USC
Shaun Carney, Air Force

Stephen McGee, Texas A&M

Riley Skinner, WakeForest

Paul Smith, Tulsa

Jeremy Young, Southern Mississippi


Running Backs

Mike Hart, Michigan

Tashard Choice, Georgia Tech

Joseph Doss, Memphis

Tyrell Fenroy, Louisiana-Lafayette

BenJarvus Green-Ellis, Ole Miss

Chad Hall, Air Force

Ray Rice, Rutgers

Ryan Torain, ArizonaState

Shannon Woods, Texas Tech


Wide Receivers

Derek Kindler, Pittsburgh

Earl Bennett, Vanderbilt

Davone Bess, Hawaii

Dorien Bryant, Purdue

Harry Douglas, Louisville

Marcus Everett, UCLA

Shawn Nelson, Southern Mississippi

Brett Swain, San DiegoState

Jomar Wright, Duke


Offensive Linemen

Jake Long, Michigan

Sam Baker, USC

Royce Blackledge, MississippiState

Matt Butler, East Carolina

Jason Fox, Miami

Doug Legursky, Marshall

Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas

Barry Richardson, Clemson

Daniel Sanders, Colorado

Roy Scheuning, OregonState


Defensive Players

Terrence Wheatley, CB, Colorado

Josh Barrett, S, ArizonaState

Jasper Brinkley, LB, South Carolina

CalaisCampbell, DE, Miami

Antoine Cason, CB, Arizona

Matthew Castelo, LB, San JoseState

Jordan Dizon, LB, Colorado

Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU

Red Keith, LB, Central Michigan

Jameel McClain, DE, Syracuse

Lionell Singleton, DB, Florida International

Eric Wicks, S, West Virginia

Wesley Woodyard, LB, Kentucky



Art Carmody, Louisville

Connor Barth, North Carolina

Brandon Coutu, Georgia

Garrett Hartley, Oklahoma

Conor Lee, Pittsburgh

Jason Ricks, OklahomaState

Alexis Serna, OregonState

Patrick Shadle, Syracuse

Sam Swank, WakeForest



Andrew Larson, California

Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech

Michael Hughes, San DiegoState

Jonathan Johnson, ArizonaState

Tony Mikulec, Central Michigan

Waylon Prather, San JoseState

Truman Spencer, North Texas

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder