Stanford To Compete In 107 year-old IRA Regatta Starting Thursday

May 31, 2007

Cherry Hill, N.J. - Stanford's men will compete in the 107th Intercollegiate Rowing Association Championships beginning Thursday morning.

The IRA will provide the Stanford men an opportunity to face a number of Midwest and East Coast schools, in addition to their traditional Pac-10 rivals.

'This will be a great experience for the Stanford rowing team to race outside of our region and to represent the PAC-10,' said Stanford head men's coach Craig Amerkhanian.

The No. 8 ranked men's varsity eight of Silas Stafford, Nate Rooks, Donny Simkin, Kevin Murphy, Alex Osborne, Ottavio Siani, David Creighton, Kevin Baum and coxswain Ariel Dixon will face undefeated Harvard, Michigan, Penn, Columbia and Boston University in the heat. Two crews will advance directly to the semifinal which will be raced on Friday. The remaining teams will compete in the repechage on Thursday afternoon with the goal of securing the remaining semifinal slots.

The men's varsity four of Ben Briggs, Justin Brown, Ryan DuChene, John DiCola, and coxswain Graham Carroll will look for a three-peat in the men's varsity four event. Stanford won the event in 2005 and 2006. 31 boats are entered in the event, resulting in a time trail format to elimite all but the top 12. Those crews compete in the semifinal round, also on Friday.

The Freshman eight of Aaron Frankl, Alec Levy, Kevin Gehr, Nico Sand, Jeromy Hoffman, Joe Brendel, Bobby Pinero, Scott Runyon and Coxswain Andy Bracken will take on Wisconsin, Brown, Yale, Georgetown and Dartmouth in their heat. Two crews will advance directly to the semifinal round with the remaining crews headed to the repechage.

Stanford's Freshman eight returns to the IRA for the first time since 2003. The Stanford varsity eight returns in 2007 after not being allowed to compete in 2006 due to a regatta eligibility ruling.

The grand finals for all racing will take place on Saturday, June 2.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder