Jan Brogan Retires as Cal Women's Tennis Coach

June 1, 2007

BERKELEY - Jan Brogan, an eight-time conference coach of the year who has amassed more than 500 victories while guiding the California women's tennis program over the past 29 seasons, announced her retirement today.

Under Brogan's direction, the Golden Bears have been a perennial power, earning 19 Top 10 finishes and making 26 consecutive appearances in the NCAA Tournament. Just this past week, Cal reached the national semifinals for the sixth time, upsetting No. 2 seed and host Georgia, 4-1, in the quarterfinals along the way. The Bears, who entered the NCAA playoffs as the No. 10 seed, finished the 2006-07 campaign with a 23-7 record and a No. 5 ranking.

'For so many years, Jan Brogan has epitomized Cal women's tennis,' Director of Athletics Sandy Barbour said. 'Her teams have achieved tremendous competitive success, and her student-athletes have performed exceedingly well both academically and athletically. Jan has been an integral part of our department for such a long time it will be hard to imagine Cal Athletics without her.'

'I have had the good fortune to do what I love and I love what I do for the past 29 years,' Brogan said. 'I have developed my craft of coaching and mentoring young women to be the very best they could be on the court and in the classroom. It has been an honor to represent the University of California in a manner consistent with its mission, striving for excellence within a diverse community. I believe I have achieved that mission. I will miss the relationships with the young women I coach, especially the 2007 team. Thank you for believing in the dream.'

Brogan has produced 61 All-Americans, 19 first-team All-Pac-10 players and five conference players of the year during her tenure. Most recently, Zsuzsanna Fodor and Susie Babos were chosen the Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year for 2007, while Fodor was the 2006 Player of the Year.

At the NCAA level, Brogan-coached players have won four doubles championships and one singles crown, all since 1999. Amanda Augustus and Amy Jensen teamed for doubles titles in 1999 and 2000, while Jensen partnered with Claire Curran for the 2001 championship, and Raquel Kops-Jones and Christina Fusano reached the victory stand in 2003. Last year, Susie Babos swept through the field to become Cal's first female NCAA singles Champion.

Cal players have also been named to the Pac-10 All-Academic squad on 27 occasions since 1994 and been voted Academic All-American four times.

The 1990 Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Year, Brogan is a four-time ITA Northwest Region Coach of the Year (1988, 1991, 1993, 2007) and was voted conference coach of the year eight times, including six consecutive years from 1982-87 ('82-86 NorPac, 1987 Pac-10) and twice more in 1992 and '94 (Pac-10). She will be inducted into the Northern California USTA Hall of Fame on July 26.

Brogan's career record stands at 539-223 (.707), which puts her fourth on the NCAA's all-time women's tennis victory list, trailing only Indiana's Lin Loring (698), Jeff Moore of Texas (594) and Gualberto Escudero of Pepperdine (543). She is also fourth in career wins among all Cal coaches (Diane Ninemire, softball, 889; Bob Milano, baseball, 688; and Clint Evans, baseball, 547.

A successful teaching professional in Los Gatos before taking Cal's head coaching job in 1978, Brogan has been a member of the ITA Board of Directors, ITA Operating Committee, NCAA Championship Tennis Committee and the ITA Sport Science Committee. She received her first U.S. National team assignment in 1985, and in 1995, she was the U.S. women's head coach at the World University Games.

Brogan is a Bay Area native who graduated from San Jose State with a degree in physical education in 1978. In 1998, she completed a master's degree in sports psychology at John F. Kennedy University. She has taught an applied sports psychology and life skills class for student-athletes at Cal.

Jan Brogan's Year-by-Year Record at Cal

Year	Record	Postseason	Final Ranking
1978-79 11-8 individuals only
1979-80 18-7 AIAW 1st round 9
1980-81 23-9 AIAW 1st round 10
1981-82 22-8 AIAW final/NCAA 1st round 14
1982-83 20-5 NCAA quarterfinals 8
1983-84 18-10 NCAA 1st round 13
1984-85 28-11 NCAA semifinals 6
1985-86 22-6 NCAA quarterfinals 5
1986-87 25-4 NCAA quarterfinals 5
1987-88 16-9 NCAA quarterfinals 5
1988-89 20-7 NCAA quarterfinals 5
1989-90 24-7 NCAA quarterfinals T4
1990-91 15-11 NCAA quarterfinals T8
1991-92 18-8 NCAA quarterfinals 6
1992-93 19-4 NCAA quarterfinals 4
1993-94 18-4 NCAA semifinals 4
1994-95 15-6 NCAA quarterfinals 5
1995-96 10-15 NCAA regional final 23
1996-97 16-8 NCAA quarterfinals 10
1997-98 16-8 NCAA round of 16 6
1998-99 20-5 NCAA semifinals 4
1999-00 21-7 NCAA semifinals 4
2000-01 16-7 NCAA round of 16 7
2001-02 14-10 NCAA round of 16 13
2002-03 23-6 NCAA semifinals 4
2003-04 17-9 NCAA regional final 14
2004-05 14-9 NCAA round of 16 24
2005-06 17-8 NCAA regional final 13
2006-07 23-7 NCAA semifinals 5
Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder