Several Bruins Named To MPSF 15th Anniversary Teams

June 1, 2007

As part of its celebration of 15 years of competition, coaches from the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) selected 15th anniversary teams for men's soccer, volleyball, water polo and gymnastics.

Nine former Bruins were honored in men's soccer, along with current assistant coach Eddie Soto, who played at Cal State Fullerton from 1991-94. UCLA dominated the first team, with six players on the 12-man team - defender Carlos Bocanegra (1997-99), Ante Razov (1992-95), Sasha Victorine (1996-99), Eddie Lewis (1992-95), Pete Vagenas (1996-99) and Seth George (1995-98). Soto also received first-team acclaim. Chris Snitko (1992-95) and McKinley Tennyson Jr. (1997-2000) earned second-team honors. In addition, former head coach Sigi Schmid (1980-98) was one of two coaches honored.

In men's volleyball, head coach Al Scates (1963-present) was a coaching honoree, and libero Tony Ker (2005-present) earned honorable mention acclaim. Seven other former Bruins made the team as well - first-team honorees Jeff Nygaard (1992-95) and Brandon Taliaferro (1997-2001); second-team honorees Stein Metzger (1993-96), Paul Nihipali (1994-97) and Adam Naeve (1997-2001); third-team selection Erik Sullivan (1992-95); and honorable mention selection Adam Shrader (2001-04).

Six Bruins were named to the Men's Water Polo anniversary team, including first-team honorees Sean Kern (1997-2000) and Brandon Brooks (1999-2002). Brett Ormsby (2001-04), Jim Toring (1993-96) and Matt Swanson (1993-96) received second-team recognition, while Adam Wright (1997-2000) was named to the honorable mention team.

UCLA women's gymnastics assistant coach Marshall Nelson, who competed for the men's gymnastics team at Nebraska from 1996-2000, was named to the second team.

  • MPSF Men's Soccer 15th Anniversary Team
  • MPSF Men's Volleyball 15th Anniversary Team
  • MPSF Men's Water Polo 15th Anniversary Team
  • MPSF Men's Gymnastics 15th Anniversary Team
  • Categories:
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder