Devils Advance To Super Regionals With 19-7 Win Over Nebraska

June 3, 2007

Box Score

TEMPE, Ariz. -

For the first time ever, Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark will host a Super Regional, as the Arizona State Sun Devils defeated the Nebraska Cornhuskers 19-7 to win the Tempe Regional championship. CJ Retherford's grand slam in the seventh inning broke open a close game, as the Devils scored 10 runs in the final two innings to pick up the victory. ASU is now 46-13 on the season.


Nebraska jumped on starter Josh Satow early, scoring twice in the first to take a 2-0 lead. Kiel Roling erased the deficit in the bottom of the first, sending a three-run homer to right field to make it 3-2. A Matt Spencer RBI double made it 4-0 ASU after one.


The Devils added two more in the second, thanks to a Roling RBI single and an Ike Davis sacrifice fly that scored Eric Sogard. Nebraska added another in the third to cut it 6-3, but

ASU plated three more in the fifth to make it 9-3. CJ Retherford singled home Petey Paramore, then Matt Spencer scored on a throwing error by the catcher. Retherford came around to score on an RBI ground out by Tim Smith.


Nebraska would make it interesting in the sixth and seventh, scoring four times off Satow to cut the ASU lead to 9-7. Jason Jarvis would come on in relief of Satow in the seventh. He was the recipient of huge run support, thanks mostly to one swing from CJ Retherford. After ASU loaded the bases with no outs, Retherford smoked a 1-0 pitch into right field for a grand slam and a 13-7 lead. The Devils weren't finished, as Eric Sogard turned in an RBI single, then Jarvis doubled to right to score Sogard.


Arizona State would put it away in the ninth, scoring four more times to secure the win and advance to a Super Regional for the second time in three seasons. Josh Satow lasted six innings, striking out six and allowing seven runs to improve to 12-3 on the year. Jason Jarvis earned a save, his 11th of the year, extending his ASU freshman record.


Mike Jones, Kiel Roling, Matt Spencer and CJ Retherford all had two hits in the win. Brett Wallace had three, while Petey Paramore and Eric Sogard each had four. The three hits for Wallace vault him past the century mark this season, making him only the 24th player in school history to amass over 100 hits in a season. He is the first since Dustin Pedroia did it in 2003.


The Sun Devils will now host Mississippi in a Super Regional in Tempe. Game dates and times are to be determined.


Arizona State landed seven players on the All-Tempe Regional Team, led by the Most Outstanding Player, Mike Leake.



Ike Davis, OF, ArizonaState

Carl Uhl, OF, UC Riverside

Kyle Messineo, Monmouth

Andy Gerch, OF, Nebraska

Mike Leake, P, ArizonaState (MOP)

Brian Flores, P, ArizonaState

Kiel Roling, DH, ArizonaState

Andrew Brown, 1B, Nebraska

Eric Sogard, 2B, ArizonaState

Craig Corriston, 3B, Nebraska

Andrew Romine, SS, ArizonaState

Petey Paramore, C, ArizonaState




Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Football: Nevada at Washington State
    TODAY | 3:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Washington
  • Football: Oregon at Arizona State
    TODAY | 5:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Football Game Break
    TODAY | 6:30pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder