Benjamin Alvarado Holley Earns Second-Team All-American

June 6, 2007

Previous Sun Devil Men's Golf All-Americans

The second, third and honorable mention PING Division I All-America Teams have been announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America and Arizona State's Benjamin Alvarado Holley has earned second-team honors. After earning honorable mention All-American honors last year with a 20th-place finish at the NCAA Championships and notching a 72.50 stroke average (fifth-best by a freshmen in ASU history), he finished this season with a 70.62 stroke average, sixth-best in ASU history (ASU top-10 list below), and was 42-under par in the final 16 rounds (five tournaments) of the year.

Lemke and Alvarado Holley's honors give head coach Randy Lein 34 All-American selections among 14 players in his 15-year career at ASU. Other All-American under Lein include Todd Demsey (3), Chris Hanell (3), Paul Casey (3), Cade Stone, Chris Stutts, Joey Snyder (2), Scott Johnson (2), Darren Angel (2), Jeff Quinney (3), Matt Jones (2), Chez Reavie (3), Alejandro Canizares (4), Lemke (3) and Benjamin Alvarado Holley (2).

ASU senior Niklas Lemke earned first-team honors, announced on June 2, along with Rhys Davies of East Tennessee State, Florida's Billy Horschel, Dustin Johnson of Coastal Carolina, Georgia's Chris Kirk and Brendon Todd, Southern California's Jamie Lovemark, Kyle Stanley of Clemson, Brigham Young's Daniel Summerhays and Dawie van der Walt of Lamar .

Alvarado Holley, New Mexico's Charlie Beljan, Jonas Blixt of Florida State, Stanford's Josepth Bramlett and Rob Grube, Roberto Castro and Cameron Tringale of Georgia Tech, UCLA's Kevin Chappell, Brian Harman of Georgia and Alabama's Michael Thompson were named to the second team.

Third-team honorees include Texas A&M's Bronson Burgoon, Derek Fathauer of Louisville, Michigan State's Matt Harmon, Colt Knost of SMU, UCLA's Lucas Lee, Brian Locke of Loyola Marymount, Stanford's Zack Miller and Matthew Savage, Joel Sjoholm of Georgia State and North Carolina's Martin Ureta..

A total of 29 golfers were named honorable mention All-America (see list below)


Sun Devil, Events Year Scoring Average
1. Paul Casey, 10 1999-2000 69.87
2. Phil Mickelson, 12 1991-1992 69.95
3. Niklas Lemke, 12 2006-2007 70.03
4. Phil Mickelson, 11 1990-1991 70.08
5. Billy Mayfair, 13 1986-1987 70.59
6. Benjamin Alvarado Holley, 12 2006-2007 70.62
7. Phil Mickelson, 14 1989-1990 70.82
8. Chez Reavie, 14 2003-2004 71.05
9. Alejandro Canizares, 13 2005-2006 71.22
10. Alejandro Canizares, 14 2003-2004 71.38

Division I PING All-America Teams

First TeamRhys Davies, East Tennessee StateBilly Horschel, FloridaDustin Johnson, Coastal CarolinaChris Kirk, GeorgiaNiklas Lemke, Arizona stateJamie Lovemark, Southern CaliforniaKyle Stanley, ClemsonDaniel Summerhays, Brigham YoungBrendon Todd, GeorgiaDawie van der Walt, Lamar

Second TeamBenjamin Alvarado Holley, Arizona StateCharlie Beljan, New MexicoJonas Blixt, Florida StateJoseph Bramlett, StanfordRoberto Castro, Georgia TechKevin Chappell, UCLARob Grube, StanfordBrian Harman, GeorgiaMichael Thompson, AlabamaCameron Tringale, Georgia Tech

Third TeamBronson Burgoon, Texas A&MDerek Fathauer, LouisvilleMatt Harmon, Michigan StateColt Knost, SMULucas Lee, UCLABrian Locke, Loyola MarymountZack Miller, StanfordMatthew Savage, StanfordJoel Sjoholm, Georgia StateMartin Ureta, North Carolina

Honorable MentionVictor Almstrom, MinnesotaOliver Bekker, LamarLouie Bishop, UC DavisMatt Bortis, TexasGeorge Bryan IV, South CarolinaJon Curran, VanderbiltAndrew DiBitetto, CharlotteOscar Floren, Texas TechCharles Ford, TennesseeAaron Goldberg, San Diego StateChesson Hadley, Georgia TechJason Kokrak, XavierBronson LaCassie, MinnesotaAndrew Landry, ArkansasTrent Leon, Oklahoma StateDaniel Lim, StanfordMichael Manning, Augusta StatePablo Martin, Oklahoma StateAdam Mitchell, GeorgiaBrett Myers, TulsaCorey Nagy, CharlotteLindsey Renolds, Coastal CarolinaMatt Savage, Florida StateMichael Schachner, DukeGareth Shaw, East Tennessee StateWebb Simpson, Wake ForestTim Streng, Western IllinoisZach Sucher, UABJarred Texter, UNLVNiall Turner, MinnesotaMike Van Sickle, MarquetteDan Woltman, Wisconsin

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder