Ryan Torain Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

June 26, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State University senior running back Ryan Torain has been named to the 2007 Maxwell Award Watch List, an honor annually given to college football's most outstanding player, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced Tuesday.

After transferring to ASU from Butler Community College in El Dorado, Kan., Torain enjoyed an historic debut season in 2006. Torain led ASU last season with 223 carries for 1,229 yards (5.5 avg.) and seven rushing touchdowns as well as 18 catches for 205 yards and three touchdown receptions, earning second-team All-Pacific-10 Conference honors and becoming the first Sun Devil to surpass 1,000 rushing yards since 2001.  His rushing total also stands as the eighth-greatest single-season amount in school history, most by an ASU player since Sun Devil legend Freddie Williams ran for 1,427 yards in 1975 and is the fourth-most by a player in his debut season in Pac-10 Conference history. An incredibly versatile player, Torain also leads all returning Pac-10 running backs in yards-per-catch (11.4) and receiving touchdowns (three) from a year ago.
The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. 'Tiny' Maxwell.
Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced in early November and three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 26. The winner of the 2007 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 6, 2007. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City in March 2008.
The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2007 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder