Bruce Davis On Hendricks Awars Watch List

July 2, 2007

The Hendricks Foundation is proud to present the pre-season watch list of candidates for the 2007 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award. Previous award recipients include Terrell Suggs of ASU, David Pollackof UGA, Elvis Dumervil of Louisville and LaMarr Woodley of the University of Michigan.

UCLA's Bruce Davis, who leads all returning players nationally in sacks from 2006 (12.5), was a semifinalist for the award a year ago while UCLA's Justin Hickman was a finalist. Bruin Dave Ball was a finalist in 2003.

The Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first team All American. Ted Hendricks used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and defend quarterbacks and running backs. He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played. His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and induction into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks' aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football's premier defensive end is presented.

On field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities and contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the 125 members of the award voting committee.

Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any recognized four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End. This year's preseason candidates include, but are not limited to the following players:

Tommy Blake, TCU SR, 6'3' 260

Ben Calderwood, Utah State JR, 6'2' 268

Calais Campbell, Miami JR, 6'8' 280

Ian Campbell, Kansas State JR, 6'5' 240

Joe Clermond, PITT SR, 6'3' 260

Tyler Clutts, Fresno State SR, 6'2' 245

Bruce Davis, UCLA SR, 6'3' 230

Larry English, Northern Illinois JR, 6'3' 255

Vernon Gholston, Ohio State JR, 6'4' 265

Wallace Gilberry, Alabama SR, 6'4' 265

Quentin Groves, Auburn SR, 6'4' 255

Chris Harrington, Texas A&M SR, 6'4' 245

Derrick Harvey, Florida SO, 6'5' 235

Louis Holmes, Arizona SR, 6'6' 265

Phillip Hunt, Houston JR, 6'2' 250

Lawrence Jackson, USC JR, 6'5' 265

Tyson Jackson, LSU JR, 6'5' 295

Tavares Jones, Middle Tennessee St. SR, 6'2' 242

Brian Johnston, Gardner-Webb SR, 6'5' 280

Nick Larkin, Boston College SR, 6'4' 250

Chris Long, Virginia SR, 6'4' 278

Jameel McClain, Syracuse SR, 6'2' 248

Albert McClellan, Marshall JR, 6'2' 210

Jesse Nading, Colorado State SR, 6'5' 258

Chase Ortiz, TCU SR, 6'3' 255

Nathan Peterson, Oklahoma State SR, 6'2' 240

Mat Shaugnessey, Wisconsin JR, 6'6' 250

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder