July 10, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Pac-10 corporate partner Oroweat will join with the Conference to institute the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Postgraduate scholarship program, Commissioner Thomas C. Hansen announced.

The 'Healthy Minds' Postgraduate Scholarship is a $10,000 grant for graduate study which will be awarded annually to one male and one female Pac-10 student-athlete. The winners will be selected from a group of 40 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship winners that are selected annually. Since 1999, the Pacific-10 Conference has annually awarded 40 Postgraduate scholarships of $3,000 each to honor outstanding student-athletes from its member institutions who also are outstanding scholars.

'Oroweat is proud to partner with the Pac-10 conference, supporting `Healthy Minds' education by providing scholarships for postgraduate study,' noted Dan Larson, Marketing Director for Bimbo Bakeries USA. 'It's a special association and great fit for Oroweat, reinforcing our brand values of health, nutrition and active lifestyle.'

'This wonderful program gives the Conference another opportunity to highlight the outstanding academic performance of student-athletes in the Pac-10,' said Hansen. 'We are most grateful to Oroweat for its generous support, which will make a real difference in helping to defray the costs of Postgraduate study.'

The winners of the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Scholarships will be selected by a committee of administrators from Pac-10 member institutions. Both will be recognized at a football game at their undergraduate institutions this fall.

To qualify for a Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship, student-athletes must have excelled academically (minimum 3.0 grade point average) and athletically, and be in their last year of intercollegiate athletics competition.

The 2006-07 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship recipients, from whom the 'Healthy Minds' scholarship winners will be chosen, are:

Institution       Male Winners, Sport              Female Winners, Sport

Arizona Adam Ritter - Swimming Holly Kast - Diving Kathryn Elofson - Swimming

Arizona State Jesse Ainsworth - Football Cassidy Farwell - Diving Kal Clark - Track & Field/CC Heidi Knabe - Softball

California Alex Pribble - Basketball Erin Reilly - Swimming & Diving Daniel Sebescen - Tennis Elyse Wong - Gymnastics

Oregon Drew Larson - Football Suzie Barnes - Softball Eric Hastings - Golf Kristen Bitter - Volleyball

Oregon State Bobby Pfennigs - Wrestling Melissa Onstad - Soccer Jeremy Larsen - Wrestling Neoma Palmer - Cross Country

Stanford Mike Silva - Football Cassidy Krug - Diving Donny Simkin - Rowing Katy Trotter - Track & Field/CC

UCLA Eric Chaghouri - Volleyball Emily Feher - Water Polo Alexandra McGoodwin - Tennis Jackie Nguyen - Track & Field

USC J. J. Owen - Baseball Kinga Marciszewska - Rowing Pavol Valovic - Water Polo Lindsay Parker - Soccer

Washington Martin Bingisser - Track & Field Asiha Grigsby - Rowing Jon Hickey - Track & Field/CC Cameo Hicks - Basketball

Washington State Lindsay Backhouse - Swimming Kaylee Gardner - Track & Field

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder