Two Former Huskies Named to Women's World Cup Squad

July 11, 2007

CHICAGO - Former University of Washington standouts Tina Frimpong and Hope Solo were named to the 18-player United States' women's world cup team that was announced Wednesday by head coach Greg Ryan.

Three more players will be added to the team that competes for the Women's World Cup, Sept. 10-30 in China.

The list of players selected for the U.S. world cup team is listed below. More complete information regarding today's selection will be available on this page later this morning.

Nicole Barnhart (Gilbertsville, Pa.), Briana Scurry (Dayton, Minn.), Hope Solo (Richland, Wash.).

DEFENDERS (5): Tina Ellertson (Vancouver, Wash.), Stephanie Lopez (Elk Grove, Calif.), Kate Markgraf (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.), Christie Rampone (Point Pleasant, N.J.), Cat Whitehill (Birmingham, Ala.);

MIDFIELDERS (6): Shannon Boxx (Redondo Beach, Calif.), Lori Chalupny (St. Louis, Mo.), Marci Jobson (St. Charles, Ill.), Carli Lloyd (Delran, N.J.), Leslie Osborne (Brookfield, Wis.), Aly Wagner (San Jose, Calif.);

FORWARDS (4): Kristine Lilly (Wilton, Conn.), Heather O'Reilly (East Brunswick, N.J.), Lindsay Tarpley (Kalamazoo, Mich.), Abby Wambach (Rochester, N.Y.).

Team Staff
Head Coach:
Greg Ryan Colorado Springs, Colo.
Asst. Coach: Bret Hall St. Charles, Ill.
Asst./GK Coach: Phil Wheddon Monroe, Conn.
Asst. Coach: Billy McNicol Huntington Beach, Calif.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder