Thompson To Be Honored By Seattle Storm As <I>Woman of Inspiration</I>

July 20, 2007

SEATTLE - Former Washington volleyball setter Courtney Thompson will be among six recipients of the Seattle Storm's WNBA second annual `Women of Inspiration' award. The honorees are women who are leaders in their respective field and pioneers of women in their position. All six women share Storm characteristics of being inspirational, ambitious and passionate, and are helping to create positive change within their communities.

The six honorees are Patricia Barker, retired prima ballerina with Pacific Northwest Ballet; Bonnie Dunbar, Ph. D, president and CEO of The Museum of Flight and retired NASA Astronaut; Rosa Franklin, Washington State Senator and member of the Washington State Nurses Association Hall of Fame; Doris Heritage, head coach of the Seattle Pacific University's women's cross country team and a former U.S. Olympic runner; Sally Jewell, president and CEO of REI; and Courtney Thompson, member of the 2005 NCAA Champion UW women's volleyball team.

These six inspirational women will be honored during a special halftime ceremony at the Storm's game vs. Indiana at 7 p.m. on July 27. Presenting the nominees with their awards will be Seattle Storm Chief Operating Officer Karen Bryant.

'We're honored to recognize these six amazing women with our `Women of Inspiration' distinction,' Bryant said. 'They are strong role models and their accomplishments exemplify everything the WNBA, the Storm organization and our players and coaches represent.'

Each of the honorees will be profiled at in the days leading up to the July 27th game, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in greater detail.

Thompson concluded her storied Husky career last December after leading Washington to its third straight NCAA semifinal appearance. She holds the Pac-10 career assists record and the NCAA career assists per game record. Thompson, a three-time All-American, was also the 2005 Honda Award winner after guiding the Huskies to their first-ever NCAA title.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder