Craig Stevens Lands a Spot on John Mackey Award Watch List

July 23, 2007

Berkeley - The 2007 John Mackey Award watch list was released by the Nassau County Sports Commission on Monday, and University of California senior tight end Craig Stevens was selected as a candidate for the honor. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award selection committee and announced in mid-December.

Stevens (San Pedro) is a two-time all-conference selection and key run-blocker and pass-protector in Cal's offensive attack. Last season he helped Cal to 10 100-yard rushing efforts and two 300-yard passing games. For the season Stevens corralled 17 catches for 239 yards (14.1 ypc) with a touchdown. Moreover, seven of his catches were on third or fourth down -- all resulting in first downs. He caught three passes for 51 yards against USC, including a 25-yard reception.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award, presented since 2000, lists six NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark (`01) of the 2007 Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (`02) of the Denver Broncos, Kellen Winslow, Jr. (`03) of the Cleveland Browns, Heath Miller (`04) of the 2006 Super Bowl Champion Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (`05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars and 2006 John Mackey Award recipient Matt Spaeth of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder