Feature: Bernard Put on Maxwell Award List

Aug. 1, 2007

From Staff Reports
OSU Daily Barometer

August 1, 2007

Corvallis, OR (CSTV U-WIRE) -- Oregon State University running back Yvenson Bernard has been named to the 71st annual Maxwell Award Watch List. The Maxwell Award is given annually to the nation's premier college football player and is voted on by a collection of college football head coaches, Maxwell Award board members, and sportswriters and sportscasters.

The senior from Boca Raton, Fla., enters the 2007 season as the Pac-10 Conference's leading returning rusher with 2,648 career yards and has an excellent opportunity to finish his career in the top-10 of the league joining former Beavers Ken Simonton and Steven Jackson. The co-team captain was recently nominated for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's premier running back.

Bernard joins a growing list of preseason accolades for the Beavers that includes senior center Kyle DeVan a candidate for the Rimington Trophy, senior linebacker Derrick Doggett for the Bronko Nagurski Award, senior defensive end Jeff Van Orsow for the Lott Trophy, and junior offensive guard Jeremy Perry for the Outland and Lombardi Awards. Bernard and the rest of his teammates open practice for the 2007 season Aug. 3 as the Beavers prepare for the season opener Thurs., Aug. 30 against the Utah Utes at Reser Stadium.

(C) 2007 OSU Daily Barometer via CSTV U-WIRE

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Sports Report: NBA Draft Special
    Thu 6/21 | 2:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder