Men's Swimming Contributes Strong Performances On Day Two Of Summer Senior Nationals

Aug. 1, 2007

Meet Results and Information

The second day of competition at the 2007 ConocoPhillips USA Swimming National Championships concluded this evening in Indianapolis, Ind. Several Stanford athletes performed well in the finals of their respective events.

In the 100 meter freestyle, Stanford affiliates Ben Wildman-Tobriner and Andy Grant turned in solid performances. Wildman-Tobriner earned an eighth place finish in the A-Final as he touched the wall in a time of 49.38. Grant finished 18th overall, second in the C-Final, as he recorded a time of 50.17. David Walters of Longhorn Aquatics captured the gold in a time of 48.96, while Ryk Neethling (48.98) and Nick Brunelli (49.10) finished second and third, respectively.

The 200 meter backstroke saw Stanford swimmer Eugene Godsoe claim a 12th place overall finish, fourth in the C-Final, as he posted a time of 2:01.69. Michael Phelps (Club Wolverinie) cruised to the victory as he posted the third-fastest time in history and a U.S. Open record of 1:54.65. Phelps's Club Wolverine teammate, Chris DeJong, claimed the silver in 1:56.75, while David Cromwell (Longhorn Aquatics) rounded out the top three in 1:57.43.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder