Stanford Picked By Coaches To Defend Pac-10 Volleyball Title

Aug. 2, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- For the second straight season, STANFORD was predicted to win the Pac-10 Volleyball title by the league's coaches. The Cardinal, who won their 10th Pac-10 title and reached the NCAA national championship match last year, return three All-Americans this season. Stanford claimed 89 points, 12 more than second-place USC, including eight of the ten first-place votes.

USC and UCLA each received one first-place vote, garnering 77 and 75 points, respectively. WASHINGTON, which returns Pac-10 Player of the year Christal Morrison, came in fourth with 71 points. CALIFORNIA received 57 points, good enough for fifth place in the poll, followed by ARIZONA, which collected 46 points.

Rounding out the poll were OREGON, ARIZONA STATE, OREGON STATE, and WASHINGTON STATE, respectively.

Last season, the Pac-10 sent three teams to the Final Four (Stanford, UCLA, and Washington). Over the last six seasons, the conference has sent 12 teams to the Final Four and captured five national titles. During those six seasons, the league has posted an impressive 568-171 (.769) record against non-conference opponents. The Pac-10 has also posted a record of 95-25 (.792) in NCAA Tournament action over that same span.

The 2007 season begins Friday, Aug. 24 with nine of the conference's 10 teams in action. USC will play host to Michigan State as part of the Trojan Invitational, while UCLA will open up against Utah in the AVCA College Volleyball Showcase in Omaha, Neb. Defending Pac-10 champion Stanford will begin its season on Saturday, Aug. 25 at Long Beach State.

The coaches have correctly picked the Pac-10 champion in 11 of the previous 18 polls. Following are the results of the preseason coaches poll. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own teams (points 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2, first place votes in parentheses):

1. Stanford (8) 89
2. USC (1) 77
3. UCLA (1) 75
4. Washington 71
5. California 57
6. Arizona 46
7. Oregon 42
8. Arizona State 33
9. Oregon State 26
10. Washington State 24


Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder