Nine Former Golden Bears Selected to National Teams

Aug. 7, 2007

BERKELEY, Calif. - Nine former Golden Bears -- Erin Cafaro, Daniel Casaca, Megan Cooke, Megan Dirkmaat, Martha Helgeland, Laurel Korholz, Deaglan McEachern, Iva Obradovic and Kaylan Vander Schilden - will participate at the 2007 FISA World Rowing Championships, it was announced today. The games will take place August 26-September 2 in Munich, Germany.

Cooke will row as part of the women's pair with former Pac-10 opponent Anna Mickelson (University of Washington). Dirkmaat and Cafaro will row together as part of the U.S. women's four. All three Golden Bears are preparing with Princeton Training. Three-time Olympian Laurel Korholz will participate in the games from the sidelines as an assistant coach. Deaglan McEachern will row in the men's quadruple sculls for the U.S.

Kaylan Vander Schilden and Dan Casaca will also make the trip to Munich but will row for the Canadian National Team. Vander Schilden will participate in the women's eight and Casaca in the men's pair. Former Golden Bears Martha Helgeland and Iva Obravodic will compete with Helgeland representing Norway in the women's double race and Obradovic rowing for Serbia in women's singles.

Cooke and Cafaro both traveled to the 2006 World Championships in Great Britain where Cooke took gold as part of the U.S. women's eight and Cafaro earned a bronze medal in the women's four. Vander Schilden and Obradovic also traveled to last year's championships and finished in fifth place in their country's women's eigh and single, respectively. Dirkmaat competed in the 2005 World Championships in Japan where she took home a silver medal. Casca finished in fifth place with the Candians in Japan. Both Dirkmaat and Korholz participated in the 2004 Olympics as members of the women's eight, which won silver.

U.S. National Team
Women's pair
Megan Cooke

Women's four
Megan Dirkmaat
Erin Cafaro

Women's team assistant coach
Laurel Korholz

Men's quadruple sculls
Deaglan McEachern

Canadian National Team
Women's eight
Kaylan Vander Schilden

Men's quadrulple sculls
Daniel Casaca

Norwegian National Team
Women's double
Martha Helgeland

Serbian National Team
Women's singles
Iva Obradovic

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder