Forrest Named To MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 8, 2007

MISSION, Kan. - Washington men's soccer senior forward Kevin Forrest has been named to the 2007 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch list, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America announced today.

Forrest, a native of Edmonds, Wash., and an Edmonds-Woodway graduate, is one of 29 student-athletes to be considered a preseason candidate for soccer's top collegiate honor.

Forrest was the 2006 Pac-10 Player of the Year and a 2006 first-team NSCAA/adidas All-Far West selection. He led the Pac-10 in every offensive statistical category last year including goals (16), while ranking eighth in the nation in goals per game (0.84) and 14th in points per game (1.74). He was twice named to the Soccer America National Team of the Week and tallied three hat tricks on the season - including a three-goal performance to lead UW to a 3-0 NCAA First Round win over Creighton. Not only a standout on the field, Forrest was named an NSCAA Scholar All-American last season as well.

Players are selected to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List by a committee of Division I coaches who are NSCAA members. In November, the list will be narrowed to 15 semifinalists. Three finalists will be named in early December in conjunction with the NCAA Division I College Cup and will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club on Fri., Jan. 11, 2008. The winner of the 2007 award will be announced during a nationally-televised new conference that evening.

Among the players on this year's watch list include the 2006 winner, Joseph Lapira of Notre Dame. Reigning NCAA Division I national champion UC Santa Barbara and Creighton, a 2007 opponent for Washington, were the only two schools to have multiple players on the Watch List. Forrest is the only player to make the Watch List from the Pac-10.

The last Husky to be considered for MAC Hermann Trophy honors was C.J. Klaas who was a semifinalist for the award in 2003 and 2004.

The Huskies report to preseason training camp Monday, Aug. 13, and make their season debut against New Hampshire at the Nike Portland Invitational, Aug. 31.

2007 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List
As selected by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA)
Pos. Name Cl. School Hometown
K Matt Allen Sr. Creighton Omaha, Neb.
M Eric Avila Jr. UCSB Encinitas, Calif.
D Rhett Bernstein Jr. Brown San Diego, Calif.
D Eric Brunner Sr. Ohio State Dublin, Ohio
F Byron Dacy Jr. Creighton Omaha, Neb.
F Patrick Figueiredo Jr. Adelphi Compinas, Brazil
F Kevin Forrest Sr. Washington Edmonds, Wash.
F Juan Gavaria Sr. St. Peter's Elizabeth, N.J.
M Tom Gray Sr. Monmouth Middletown, N.J.
M Bruno Guarda Jr. SMU Piracicaba, Brazil
D David Horst Sr. Old Dominion Pine Grove, Pa.
D Andy Iro Sr. UCSB Liverpool, England
F Saidi Isaac Sr. Winthrop Eldoret, Kenya
M Dejan Jakovic Jr. UAB Etobicoke, Ontario
D Julius James Sr. Connecticut Maloney Gardens, Trinidad
F George Josten Sr. Gonzaga Idaho Falls, Idaho
M Stephen King Sr. Maryland Medford, N.J.
F Joseph Lapira Sr. Notre Dame Lake Charles, La.
M Peter Lowry Sr. Santa Clara Fair Oaks, Calif.
M Travis MacKenzie Sr. Duquesne Carnegie, Pa.
M Ryan Maduro Sr. Providence Bristol, R.I.
F Patrick Nyarko Jr. Virginia Tech Kumasi, Ghana
F Yannick Reyering Jr. Virginia Mettingen, Germany
M David Roth Sr. Northwestern St. Louis, Mo.
D Andre Sherard Sr. North Carolina Greenville, N.C.
M Eric Sweetin Jr. Saint Louis Kansas City, Mo.
D Julian Valentin Sr. Wake Forest Lancaster, Pa.
D Rob Valentino Sr. San Francisco Cave Creek, Ariz.
M Michael Videira Sr. Duke Milford, Mass.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder