UCLA Men's Soccer Chosen As Top Team In Pac-10 For Sixth Straight Year

Aug. 13, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Coming off an appearance in the 2006 national championship game, the UCLA Bruins have been picked to win the Pac-10 men's soccer title by the league's coaches for the sixth consecutive season. The Bruins, who earned their 24th straight NCAA Tournament bid last year, finished as the national runner-up, falling 2-1 to UC Santa Barbara in the final match. The CALIFORNIA Golden Bears, who captured their first-ever Pac-10 title last season, finished in a 2nd-place tie with the WASHINGTON Huskies in the poll, three points behind UCLA.

The Bruins received 23 points, including three first place votes, followed by California and Washington at 20 points. STANFORD garnered 13 points to claim fourth place, while SAN DIEGO STATE earned nine points for fifth. OREGON STATE rounded out the poll, receiving five points.

Last season, the Pac-10 received four NCAA Tournament berths for the first time since 2003, as California, San Diego State, UCLA, and Washington all made their way into the 48-team field. The Conference as a whole posted a 37-20-6 (.635) record against Division I non-conference opponents, including postseason play. This year, UCLA has been ranked No. 1 in the nation by College Soccer News; California, Washington, and San Diego State also finished in the poll's Top 25. Washington returns 2006 Pac-10 Player of the Year Kevin Forrest, who has been named to the 2007 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch list, soccer's top collegiate award. The 2007 Pac-10 men's soccer season kicks off on August 23rd, when Stanford plays host to Denver; UCLA and Oregon State begin their seasons the following day.

Following are the results of the preseason coaches' poll. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own teams (points 5-4-3-2-1, first place votes in parentheses):

2007 Pac-10 Men's Soccer Preseason Poll

1. UCLA (3) 23
(t)2. California (1) 20
(t)2. Washington (2) 20
4. Stanford 13
5. San Diego State 9
6. Oregon State 5


Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder